DT Substrate depth

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by Pugsly, 9 Nov 2009.

  1. Pugsly

    Pugsly

    Joined:
    6 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    612
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Pretoria
    hi all,

    My DT substrate is a mixture of playsand and sea sand and is currently averaging about 2cm deep.

    What is the best depth to have you DT substrate?
     
  2. Guest




  3. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    24,035
    Likes Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Centurion
    2cm is OK.
     
  4. OP
    Pugsly

    Pugsly

    Joined:
    6 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    612
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Pretoria
    deeper say 5cm not better? if its deeper will it not aid like a DSB?
     
  5. Sentari

    Sentari

    Joined:
    15 May 2009
    Posts:
    2,084
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Weltevreden Park, Johannesburg
    Yep it will aid as a DSB. From what ive read this starts happening at 7cm.

    Mine is 2cm and i have no problems. I would personally leave it at 2cm.
     
  6. Tobes

    Tobes Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    30 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    9,482
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    A Beautiful place!
    To use it just for substrate then 2cm is OK,

    to use as a DSB then 12 - 15cm will be best and also remember to never disturb or tumble the sand too much in this case, especially deep down as it will release the sulfer and poison the water when mature (the black anearobic areas)

    Putting live rock on top of the DSB will also minimise the surface area - but less is better than nothing if you don't have a sump to keep a DSB.
     
  7. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    24,035
    Likes Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Centurion
    DSB (DEEP sand bed)
    If it is in tank you cannot have sand sifting Gobies or sea stars or anything that clean the sand.

    In tank 2cm is 100%. Ensure that rocks are standing on the base glass, and it cannot be tunneled and dugged out underneath. Easier with shallow display sand compared to deep sand.
     
  8. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    28,753
    Likes Received:
    1,015
    Yip, as the guys have said, 2 to 3 cm for substrate in the tank, or 10 to 12cm's for a DSB, anything in-between is not performing any beneficial function for the tank.
     
  9. OP
    Pugsly

    Pugsly

    Joined:
    6 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    612
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Pretoria
    ok, cool thanks guys
     
  10. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,802
    Likes Received:
    591
    Location:
    Sandton
    mine is about 5-6cm varying, but i have a sand sifting star and i like to see it make shapes from the powerheads
     

Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Substrate depth Forum Date
Re-Scaping Questions and Substrate Depth Aquascaping 19 Jun 2014
Substrate... best bottom for your buck General Discussions and Advice Wednesday at 06:47
Substrate New Members 30 May 2017
To substrate or not to substrate , and if so how much and what ? General Discussions and Advice 28 May 2017
[wtd] Substrate and LR Wanted 3 Mar 2017
[wtd] Substrate / Pulsing xenia / Kenya tree / GSP Wanted 3 Mar 2017
[wtd] Substrate Wanted 5 Feb 2017