dsb in a tl550

Discussion in 'Boyu TL450 and TL550 advice' started by jsoli4, 30 Apr 2014.

  1. jsoli4

    jsoli4

    Joined:
    17 Feb 2014
    Posts:
    126
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    eash london
    Would like to know if i put a container in say the 1st compartment with the right substrate to make a dsb would it be worthwhile because dont wanna lose tl550 canopy for external dsb.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. hansiemyburgh

    hansiemyburgh

    Joined:
    7 Jan 2014
    Posts:
    431
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    JHB - East Rand
    What I understand you need a large surface area for a proper DSB. I have the same problem, want a DSB on my TL-550 but will need to go sump.
     
  4. Bflynn

    Bflynn

    Joined:
    30 Oct 2012
    Posts:
    663
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Worcester
    You could put the DSB in the tank. Would only take up a bit of viewing space.
     
  5. hansiemyburgh

    hansiemyburgh

    Joined:
    7 Jan 2014
    Posts:
    431
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    JHB - East Rand
    Explain to us please?:blush:
     
  6. Bflynn

    Bflynn

    Joined:
    30 Oct 2012
    Posts:
    663
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Worcester
    I would think that you could add more substrate making it deeper to the bottem of your tank, acting as a DSB. This way you dont need to add a sump. @RiaanP is the DSB guru, maybe he could give some good advice.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  7. leslie hempel

    leslie hempel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    14,539
    Likes Received:
    285
    Location:
    Gonubie East London
    A dsb in such a small tank will be innefiecient imo. Id rather look at running a product such as orca cubes or perhaps just frequent water changes.
     
  8. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,384
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  9. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,155
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Centurion
    without adding an overflow, using one of the current back chambers as a DSB will not be sufficient. The footprint is just too small. Orca cubes, if you can manage the air bubbles would work a lot better. Or using the top part of a chamber as a refugium, that can work.

    Adding a remote sump, Either underneath by drilling the tank. Or above by using a pump in on of the back chambers to pump water up to the higher sump. And let the higher sump overflow back to the tank.
     
  10. Dane G

    Dane G

    Joined:
    9 Jan 2012
    Posts:
    847
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    cape town south africa
    I have a TL 550 i run Bio Cubes and an external canister filter as a media reactor, the cubes work extremely well and i firmly believe all my future tanks will have then, i also have a mini refug with feather culpulera in a plastic guppy breeder tank that i drilled extra holes in and mounted inside my tank, this also aids in nutrient export and the grow rates indicates the nutrients in my system(i hardly trimm it anymore) and i big plus is the huge amount of pods in my tank even though I have a fairy wrasse, yasha goby and blennies that feed on them just K.I.S.S with nanos i do top ups and dose RED SEA ABC+(Speaking of i need to update my thread my tank has changed(testing SPS) quiet abit)
     
  11. Brendan6

    Brendan6

    Joined:
    24 Oct 2013
    Posts:
    1,241
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    Cape Town
    You could also add an upflow sump with a gravity return. Love mine, gives you the option to add a beast of a skimmer as well.
     
  12. Bflynn

    Bflynn

    Joined:
    30 Oct 2012
    Posts:
    663
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Worcester
    @RiaanP I just want to be clear on this for my own record. Can a DSB work in DT? Besides it looking a bit funny and taking up space, will it work in a tl550 for instance?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  13. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,384
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
    Yes it will.
     
  14. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,155
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Centurion
    a DSB inside a display can work

    BUT

    Take into account that it needs to be 15cm deep. So

    • no burrowing fishes. Or you need a net or eggcrate in the sand to prevent deeper dugouts.
    • rock stack must be supported past the sand onto a stable platform, or on the bottom glass. This goes with first point, as anything burrowing will upset the stack
    • sandstorms due to powerheads.
    • sand sifting. Even my Clarkii clown male moved some sand around.
    • you loose 15cm of your viewable area. On a TL550, that is 55cm deep, that means you only have 40cm viewing pane. So you loose about 25% of your viewing pleasure
    • No sand predators. anything that will eat the beneficial lifeforms we want in the DSB
     
    Last edited: 2 May 2014
  15. leslie hempel

    leslie hempel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    14,539
    Likes Received:
    285
    Location:
    Gonubie East London
    Depending on scape I still feel this will be a challenge as you will have more opportunity for detritus settlement because of the rockwork.

    Secondly because of the scape being ontop of the dsb you will loose interface area between the water and the top of the gravel bed limiting its effieciency.

    Just some points worth considering.
     
  16. irie ivan

    irie ivan MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    3,149
    Likes Received:
    171
    Location:
    Bracken
    I would not advocate a DSB in a tank, especially not one as small as a TL 550. Reality is they are nutrient sinks and unless you are planning on ultra low stocking densities, you are inadvertently going to have to deal with nutrient issues at a later stage..... or not so much later.
     
  17. jsoli4

    jsoli4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    17 Feb 2014
    Posts:
    126
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    eash london
    please post some photos would like to see your setup,thanx
     
  18. jclaas

    jclaas

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2012
    Posts:
    810
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    East London
    DSb in this tank wont be worth wile. Water changes, more liverock or a reactor:thumbup:
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - tl550 Forum Date
[wtd] Spraybar for boyu tl550 Wanted 31 Oct 2016
Boyu tl550 hood fans Boyu TL450 and TL550 advice 18 Oct 2016
TL550 Advice Beginner Discussions 3 Oct 2016
Boyu TL550 Setup and advice Boyu TL450 and TL550 advice 29 Aug 2016
Boyu TL550 - New setup New Members 8 Aug 2016
Tl550 LED diy Boyu TL450 and TL550 advice 27 Jun 2016
Automatic fish feeder that fits the boyu tl550 Boyu TL450 and TL550 advice 19 Jun 2016