1. Slims

    Slims

    Joined:
    21 Jan 2010
    Posts:
    164
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Durban
    There is a layer of detrius that has settled on my DSB. Should I remove this and how without disturbing the DSB?
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Tobes

    Tobes Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    30 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    9,482
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    A Beautiful place!
    Take a small dia pipe long enough to reach the DSB top and a flattish tub and siphon it slightly into the tub without pushing the pipe into the sand.
     
  4. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,160
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Centurion
    Replace your return pump with a bigger one. Your flow is not enough.
     
  5. Ivyalt

    Ivyalt

    Joined:
    8 Apr 2012
    Posts:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Centurion
    Is that so Riaan?

    I have the same issue. How much bigger. 6 ft running 150 liter sump @ 3000 l per hour.

    Thanks
     
  6. shaunn

    shaunn

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2011
    Posts:
    2,179
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    JHB
    @RiaanP my dsb will be 450*380 and my pump is 6000L/H will that be ok ?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  7. Ivyalt

    Ivyalt

    Joined:
    8 Apr 2012
    Posts:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Centurion
    I must agree. If there is too much detrites settling anywhere one should consider increasing flow in dt as well as sump?
     
  8. shaunn

    shaunn

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2011
    Posts:
    2,179
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    JHB
    so we we should have some power heads in the sump ?
     
  9. Ivyalt

    Ivyalt

    Joined:
    8 Apr 2012
    Posts:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Centurion
    Shaun I am going to up the flow to 6000. Currently on 3000 for 800 liter tank.

    Dont think its enough as detrites are settling on top of dsb.

    Wont the water flow to quickly through the skimmers?
     
  10. shaunn

    shaunn

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2011
    Posts:
    2,179
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    JHB
    no the skimmer will always work and mine works fine with my 6000L/h pump
     
  11. Ivyalt

    Ivyalt

    Joined:
    8 Apr 2012
    Posts:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Centurion
    Which pump are you running?

    I have seen various reviews.

    Hailea cheap but heavy wattage
    Reef octopus expensive but low wattage

    Or 2 3000 pumps?

    What would you suggest?
    You agree that 3000 per h is too low for my system?
     
  12. shaunn

    shaunn

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2011
    Posts:
    2,179
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    JHB
    i am not sure about how much flow u need

    how much much wattage is are haila's

    i run 450L tank with 12 hour lighting cycle and my total cost fro electricity was R162

    so i think the higher wattage pumps are not gona make much of a diffrance
     
    Last edited: 31 May 2012
  13. Hammerhead

    Hammerhead

    Joined:
    12 Oct 2011
    Posts:
    950
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Westville , Durban
    A prefilter/ filter sock/ filter floss/ sponge will assist in trapping detritus before entering your skimmer chamber, your skimmer will not have to work as hard. Be sure to clean/ replace filtering material often.
     
  14. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,160
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Centurion
    The "golden" rule of 3 to 5 times your system volume per hour is in my mind not a correct method.

    It really depends on the width of the sump. Basically you want good strong flow from the inlet to outlet across the DSB. So its the flow rate that should be correct. On a sump 300mm wide compared to a sump 600mm wide, obvious that the wider sump needs a pump that is double in volume. OK, excluding head height loss. Still needs to bring that into consideration. Some 3000L/h pumps can only deliver 2000L/h at 1.8m, also depends on the number of elbows, pipe thickness and length. Too thick return pipe and you would deliver less water back into the display. Due to the extra weight of the water in the pipe that pushes down via gravity on the pump.

    Coming back to flowrate, how then to get a comparison, or method to calculate the amount of water that must be pumped out at one end, to be delivered back to the inlet side after passing the display. Looking at waterfalls, after heavy rains and a lot of extra water coming down. The amount of water falling over the fall. Or the thickness of the water wall is a indication of what we should aim for. A nice thick waterfall over the last divider. How high, or thick should it be? Or what is the head of the waterfall? Looking at other tanks and mine, a good indication is a head or thickness of between 6 and 10mm. That is the difference between the top of the glass and the actual water surface.

    My sump is 450mm wide. Running a Water Blaster 5000L.h pump. Expensive, but worthwhile. Still have a little bit of settlement, on the intake side. But got so many bristle worms there that I do not care.

    Filter sock can and do help. But it is extra work (yes, I'm lazy) and it can block up. Plus, where will those bristle worms and copepods that everybody want to see running around on the DSB get food?
     
    Last edited: 31 May 2012
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - help Forum Date
Overflow fitting help please Pumps and Waterflow Wednesday at 11:47
coral help for covering a large surface area General Discussions and Advice 29 Nov 2016
Please help ORI with the KZN bait collection survey Diving, Collecting and Environmental Discussions 11 Nov 2016
Urgent help needed Please help/ fish looks like its dying Urgent Help Needed 7 Nov 2016
Help to ID live rock growth ID Needed 5 Nov 2016
Drilling ceiling help needed Anything DIY Related 22 Oct 2016
Drilling and overflow HELP Beginner Discussions 21 Oct 2016