Drilling a jebo

Joined
10 Jun 2007
Posts
1,783
Reaction score
10
Location
durban,kloof
is it possible to drill a jebo tank as its not glass, but acylic(spelling).
want to install a sump for my sisters tank as its a pain with out one.
i heard it can be cut with a hack saw?

thanks for the help in advance:thumbup:
 
Joined
10 Mar 2008
Posts
800
Reaction score
5
Location
Pretoria
hack saw will make it very untidy. rather use a glass cookie cutter. a 30mm drill bit is like 100 bucks. ask lanzo where he got his!
 
Joined
7 Mar 2008
Posts
639
Reaction score
5
Location
Kimberley
Just make 100% sure, mine was made of tempered glass! It will shatter when drilled!
 
Joined
10 Sep 2007
Posts
9,395
Reaction score
26
Location
Centurion
good luck dude!

try and warm up a peace of metal and see if it melts, if not, then you know you cant drill
 
Joined
7 Mar 2008
Posts
639
Reaction score
5
Location
Kimberley
Don't drill as the glass would shatter! Why not rather go for a overflow box, will be about R400 but will save the tank!
 
Joined
7 Mar 2008
Posts
639
Reaction score
5
Location
Kimberley
76048c3b9071981f.jpg
Hi Gaz, this is the one by Reef Octo, you would be able to get it from any Reef Octo stockist, believe it is about 400 bucks, might be wrong though! You not going to be using the built-in filter then, so just cut a hole in the back of your canopy where the filter used to be!:thumbup:
 
Joined
15 Jul 2008
Posts
319
Reaction score
2
Location
Cape Town
I also hav a jebo and didnt want to risk drilling so usin the above overflow, altho couldnt get it for under R800. Theres alot of DIY versions out there tho.
 
Joined
16 Jul 2009
Posts
15
Reaction score
0
Location
Mtunzini
Sheldon

Instead of drilling a tank, just an idea which has worked well for me and my 700l tank, I installed a 2000Va UPS, purchased for R 2020.00 from local computer shop. This gives my gravity fed sump, return pump of 2400l/h or 35 watt, 3hrs run time in the event of a power cut, the alarm company calls me if there is a power cut, I then know I have 3 hrs to get home. The expensive way is to put valves in at R3000.00 a pop. Hope this helps.:wave2:
 

Rory

Admin
Joined
5 May 2007
Posts
4,857
Reaction score
37
Location
JHB
Other option is to have a sump that's above the tank. That way you need a pump in the tank (or next to/behind if you have it "suck" through a pipe) and an overflow on the sump that goes back down to the tank.
 

Tom

Joined
12 May 2007
Posts
1,310
Reaction score
1
Location
Port Elizabeth
Thats what i am using, with a home made skimming box for the return pump.
So if the sump breaks, the pump wont empty the display tank. :D
Just make sure the sump does not overflow the display tank if the power fails, therefore a 20mm water level must be maintained below the rim of the tank.

The auto top up system sensor is then in the display tank, and its level is kept constant with RO.
 

Similar threads


Top