Drilled hole?

Wetty

Tuned by Tunze, turboed by Red Sea
Joined
17 Jul 2008
Posts
539
Reaction score
3
Location
Alberton ,Johannesburg
Not sure if Iv asked this here or on another forum but.....im getting my new aquarium today. And its 3ft x 490 x 490 and I assume its the usual 6mm thickness. It works out to 216 litres...but now im gona have it drilled then build in an overflow filter. Which is the correct diameter size hole to be drilled and im thinking of having two holes drilled....one going down and the other next to it for the water back into the tank.

Any advise pls!!!
 

Wetty

Tuned by Tunze, turboed by Red Sea
Joined
17 Jul 2008
Posts
539
Reaction score
3
Location
Alberton ,Johannesburg
the return hole would need to be much higher than the water level in your display tank otherwise the water will drain out of your display tank and overflow your sump

I know about that. Ill have a pipe coming out the 2nd hole...running half way along the length of the tank then flowing back into the water. Its just neater that way
 

Wetty

Tuned by Tunze, turboed by Red Sea
Joined
17 Jul 2008
Posts
539
Reaction score
3
Location
Alberton ,Johannesburg
Cool. Fanx...was advised to have it 20 - 25mm but my source wasnt to safe
 

Wetty

Tuned by Tunze, turboed by Red Sea
Joined
17 Jul 2008
Posts
539
Reaction score
3
Location
Alberton ,Johannesburg
Strength of return pump? Diameter of piping?
 

Wetty

Tuned by Tunze, turboed by Red Sea
Joined
17 Jul 2008
Posts
539
Reaction score
3
Location
Alberton ,Johannesburg
just keep swimming, just keep swimming. lol lol
 

Wetty

Tuned by Tunze, turboed by Red Sea
Joined
17 Jul 2008
Posts
539
Reaction score
3
Location
Alberton ,Johannesburg
So which strength pump should i use for return flow?
 
Joined
7 Mar 2008
Posts
639
Reaction score
5
Location
Kimberley
I would suggest using a 1000 lph, depending on what size skimmer you going to run, there's no use for much greater flow through your sump than your skimmer will be able to handle. Imho too much flow could be more detrimental than beneficial.
 

Wetty

Tuned by Tunze, turboed by Red Sea
Joined
17 Jul 2008
Posts
539
Reaction score
3
Location
Alberton ,Johannesburg
what head i the pump going to push?You would need to calculate the head and check the specs on the pump because some pumps dont have a great head specs.
Sorry..but ull have to explain this statement to me?
 
Joined
14 Feb 2008
Posts
4,251
Reaction score
12
Location
Centurion
you need to measure the total height that the pump will have to push water up from the sump to the display tank. every pump has a maximum head (height)that it can force water up until it reaches its maximum. keeping in mind that 90elbows etc will also slow down the flow

an example would be that if you use a pump of 3000l and the maximum head of your pump is 3m - 0 liters
If the pump pushes 1 m the return rate might just be 1500l.

Hope you understand:)
 

Wetty

Tuned by Tunze, turboed by Red Sea
Joined
17 Jul 2008
Posts
539
Reaction score
3
Location
Alberton ,Johannesburg
Damn....didnt think it would be that complicated. lol lol...htort u were reffering to the powerheads in a way. lol
 
Joined
14 Feb 2008
Posts
4,251
Reaction score
12
Location
Centurion
:lol: It's not that bad. Measure the height that the water will travel from from the sump to the display and look at the specs of the pump on the back of the box. You will see a graph that shows the Height VS Water movement
 

Wetty

Tuned by Tunze, turboed by Red Sea
Joined
17 Jul 2008
Posts
539
Reaction score
3
Location
Alberton ,Johannesburg
I think a 3000l/h pump will go to bout 1.2l/h sufficiently.
 
Joined
23 Apr 2008
Posts
127
Reaction score
1
Location
CPT
Wetty, what skimmer you plan on using .. for a system your size I would suggest TS1 (rated for 350litres) .. Mtroboer suggested 1000l/h which would be perfect for TS1 (imo) .. exciting times ...
 

Top