DrDAQ Aquarium Monitor Kit

Discussion in 'Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers' started by JD167, 23 Apr 2010.

  1. JD167

    JD167

    Joined:
    5 Apr 2008
    Posts:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Hi all

    I found this device on the Web.

    [​IMG]

    http://www.draquarium.com/

    The DrDAQ Aquarium monitoring system. It looks basic and can offer most of what I want at the moment. Log and plot Temperature, PH, Humidity etc etc and is relatively affordable. It runs from a normal pc with Windows XP, 2000 or NT and I think they even have Linux drivers. A local supplier sells this unit with 2 temperature sensors and a PH probe for about R1550.

    The Doctor Can :

    Measure pH, Room Temperature, Hood Temperature, and Aquarium Temperature Light Levels, Sound Level, Voltage, and Resistance via DrDAQ sensors.
    Turn on a fans if tank temperature is too high
    Simulate solar cycle by turning on lights in succession at sunrise, and turning them off at sunset.
    Simulate a lunar cycle by turning on a light at moonrise and dimming in sync with the lunar phase
    Sound an alarm or send an Email if pH is too low, or temperature is too high
    Continiously log aquarium sensor data to a file
    Continiously graph live aquarium sensor data, to daily, weekly, and monthly graphs
    Simulate natural currents and wave action by cycling pumps or create storm and current surge effects
    Turn off pumps at feeding time automatically
    Launch another application or issue a shell command in response to tank conditions
    Mirror natural temperature cycle
    Will let you monitor and control your aquarium from the comfort of your computer chair
    Will let you monitor and control your aquarium over the internet with a web browser
    Will let you send email reports and alerts about aquarium conditions
    Keep a log file of your aquarium conditions

    Has anyone used this before? Comments?
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. vatso

    vatso

    Joined:
    3 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    1,733
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    JHB
    Who is the local supplier?
     
  4. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    WOW JD! AWESOME find, mate! I am DEFINITELY looking at this!

    2nd Vatso' question - who's the local supplier?!?!?!
     
  5. JD167

    JD167 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    5 Apr 2008
    Posts:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Cape Town
  6. clinton stanford

    clinton stanford

    Joined:
    11 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    2,210
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    East London
    now thats awesome:) thanks for sharing JD;) will be looking at something like this for my new tank:slayer:
     
  7. vatso

    vatso

    Joined:
    3 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    1,733
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    JHB
    Looks good

    How does it control devices? one would need the X10 interface! measuring is all nice but we would want stuff to happen if we know it's out of wack
     
  8. JD167

    JD167 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    5 Apr 2008
    Posts:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Cape Town
  9. Boegie

    Boegie

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2010
    Posts:
    1,371
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    East London
    Excellent product.
     
  10. FransSny

    FransSny

    Joined:
    16 Oct 2008
    Posts:
    5,697
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Hermanus
    Too confusing for me....
     
  11. maj

    maj

    Joined:
    13 Oct 2009
    Posts:
    2,054
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Cape Town
    sounds like a very handy tool,wonder if it really works and how accurately
     
  12. JD167

    JD167 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    5 Apr 2008
    Posts:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Not sure. The PH stats shows a range of 0 - 14pH and a resolution of 0.02pH. Not sure if that means tolerance of 0.02pH or what...

    I'm actually looking for a cheaper solution to the Profolux units. I don't need all the bits and pieces and to be honest it is a bit expensive. All I want is to monitor my tank remotely and to have historical values of temp, PH etc. I have a small EEE Pc that I can use and something like this would work nicely for me. Just thought someone else has used it already and could give some feedback. The local supplier doesn't have a lot of knowledge on the product.
     
  13. w0nt0n

    w0nt0n

    Joined:
    5 Sep 2010
    Posts:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just set it up on a laptop (WinXP).
    It is set to log every 5 min for 72hours.
    1 DRDAQ, 2 external temp, 1 internal temp, pH, and all else is useless...
    Not too shabby, I am investigating nice software for this hardware.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - DrDAQ Aquarium Monitor Forum Date
up to 25% discount on complete aquariums Sponsor Specials 31 Oct 2016
RO unit waste water used for freshwater aquarium? General Discussions and Advice 7 Oct 2016
Cooling a Marine Aquarium Beginner Discussions 5 Oct 2016
Two Oceans Aquarium Coral Swap Hosted at Perky Pets General Discussions and Advice 17 Sep 2016
Zetlight Marine Space Reef Aquariums JungleAquatics.NET BLOG 5 Sep 2016
Using Seaweed to get rid of nuisance algae in your aquarium or pond General Discussions and Advice 21 Aug 2016
[wtd] Den Braven Aquarium Silicone Black Wanted 6 Aug 2016