Downgrading to a Boyu TL550

Discussion in 'Boyu TL450 and TL550 advice' started by dogstar, 30 Aug 2010.

  1. dogstar

    dogstar

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    505
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    jhb
    Hi Guys,

    I have a 1mX0,5mX0.5m tank with sump etc etc.
    This is my livestock
    1 x pyjama cardinal
    2 x clowns
    2 x chromis
    1 x midas blenny
    1 x 4 stripe damsel
    1 x choc dip chromis

    My tank has been running for 22 months. I have been slowly neglecting the tank due to work and other commitments.

    So i want to downgrade my tank.

    What are the common issues with a Boyu TL550? Before I downgrade, i want to know what i am in for.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. butcherman

    butcherman Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2009
    Posts:
    11,626
    Likes Received:
    280
    Location:
    Kempton Park
    Hi dogstar. I see your tank has been running for 22 months, why do you want to down grade? do you think the TL550 will be less work?
     
  4. Manic

    Manic Moderator

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    3,313
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Johannesburg, Edenvale
    The TL-550 will be more work, especially if you keep all of those fish in it.
     
  5. dogstar

    dogstar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    505
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    jhb
    I was hoping it would be less work.

    Takes me a long time to do a water change and clean the tank on my current setup.

    I had a return pump fail on me this weekend. Took me a good few hours to re-plumb a the new one in. Granted this doesnt happen often, I dont have the time i used to.
     
  6. dogstar

    dogstar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    505
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    jhb
    I was going to find a new home for some of them. I didnt think i could keep all of them in a nano.
     
  7. Manic

    Manic Moderator

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    3,313
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Johannesburg, Edenvale
    Why does it take you long to do a water change. It took me 15mins yesterday to do a 200L water change.
     
  8. Manic

    Manic Moderator

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    3,313
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Johannesburg, Edenvale
    Let me get back to the main problems with the TL-550:

    The lighting is rubbish and limits your coral selection.
    The skimmer sucks and just wastes space in the back.
    There are no alternative skimmers that can be placed in the tank without some serious modification.
    It is hard to achieve good flow in the tank without huge pumps inside the tank.
    Auto top ups are hard to implement into the design of the tank.
    Temperatures are hard to keep constant because the lights and ballast are enclosed into the hood.
     
  9. dogstar

    dogstar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    505
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    jhb
    I clean everything, glass (inside and out), gravel vacum, skimmer cup, lights etc.

    I figure a smaller tank means smaller everything thus less time.
     
  10. Manic

    Manic Moderator

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    3,313
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Johannesburg, Edenvale
    I clean my glass with a razor blade on a paint remover, this is attached to a rod, takes like 5mins to glean the glass in my tank. I have never vacuumed the substrate in the tank though. What substrate do you have?
     
  11. vatso

    vatso

    Joined:
    3 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    1,733
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    JHB
    I would rather take a break until you have time again. then try save a few minutes here & there. you going to end up in the same boat no matter what tank you have.

    larger does not mean more work the only thing that takes longer is cleaning the glass the rest is about the same time give or take a few minutes.
     
  12. dogstar

    dogstar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    505
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    jhb
    aragonite substrate

    Hmmm, will contemplate taking a break - but that means finding new homes for my fish :(
     
  13. Manic

    Manic Moderator

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    3,313
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Johannesburg, Edenvale
    Why would you vacuum your substrate then. All you are doing is releasing all the nitrates in your substrate. I would stop doing this. In two years I have never vacuumed my substrate.
     
  14. Mad_Max

    Mad_Max

    Joined:
    14 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pretoria
    Look at some of my mods. Mad max boyu tl550 (upgrades) - Marine Aquariums of South Africa

    I am not a DIY guru, so with a little planning you will be able to do most.

    As most have mentioned the problems are as follow:
    1. Temp, 2 PC fans sorted that out (temp always 25deg),
    2. Will need Auto-topup. I add 500ml RO morning and evening. Planning ATO
    3. Extra pumps needed. I have total of 4600lph in the system,
    4. Light, I have 90W PL (3X24W + 18W). I have a BTA (very healthy and dark green) plus some low light SPS,
    5. Skimmer, the WG310/308 are not good. Plumb in a DIY hang on skimmer and works great.

    My water changes take 10min max once a week plus clean windows with a magnet every day.
     
    Last edited: 30 Aug 2010
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Downgrading Boyu TL550 Forum Date
[wtd] Spraybar for boyu tl550 Wanted 31 Oct 2016
Boyu tl550 hood fans Boyu TL450 and TL550 advice 18 Oct 2016
[wtd] Boyu xq500 nitrate reactor Wanted 18 Sep 2016
Boyu TL550 Setup and advice Boyu TL450 and TL550 advice 29 Aug 2016
Our Nano Tank is 1 year old - Boyu TL450 New Members 28 Aug 2016
Boyu TL550 - New setup New Members 8 Aug 2016
Automatic fish feeder that fits the boyu tl550 Boyu TL450 and TL550 advice 19 Jun 2016