Dosing of Kalkwasser

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by williet, 14 Jan 2012.

  1. williet

    williet Look at the shiny LEDs!!!

    Joined:
    29 Nov 2010
    Posts:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Amanzimtoti
    Hi Guys

    I have today had the shock of my life :eek:!!

    I did an alkalinity test and I was sitting at 5.7dkh!!!! (Where normally I am at 9.9dkh I do have my calcium and Mg balanced to run this)

    It seems because of the highly saturated humidity down here in durbs, I get very little if any evaporation! So I get No Kalkwasser being dosed (so no Calcium and alkalinty being added) No my question I have a dose pump system and I want to toss the Kalkstirrer and go with something more reliable. I have all the stuff needed to do the change to dosing but what do I do for auto topup in respect to PH of the RO before topping it up into my tank ?

    Any advice will be appreciated !!!! :1:
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. finrott

    finrott

    Joined:
    11 May 2007
    Posts:
    116
    Likes Received:
    7
    no issues dude... slowly get it up. i had the same issue here in singapore. what i did was add a fan to my sump to get the evaporation going. alternativly you could get a CA reactor or kalk stirrer. For now i would use a part a and b buffering solution...something like two little fishies
     
  4. butcherman

    butcherman Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2009
    Posts:
    11,626
    Likes Received:
    280
    Location:
    Kempton Park
    If your CA, and MG is right, I would only dose ALK, maybe seachem, or brightwell?
     
  5. LikesFish

    LikesFish

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2007
    Posts:
    939
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Canada
    I don't think the pH of the RO water for evaporation has any effect on a tank as it will immediately settle at the pH of the tank water.
     
  6. williet

    williet Thread Starter Look at the shiny LEDs!!!

    Joined:
    29 Nov 2010
    Posts:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Amanzimtoti
    Ok, so I take it there is no need then for ph buffer for the RO water ? Will it not bust PH and Alk ??

    I have sorted out the alk( back to 8) issue with seachem reef builder !

    Awesome stuff!!!
     
  7. LikesFish

    LikesFish

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2007
    Posts:
    939
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Canada
    Remember topup is a small amount of water that drips into the tank. I only worry about making my parameters the same for water change water which is typically a significant %, in my case 20%.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Dosing Kalkwasser Forum Date
kalkwasser dosing General Discussions and Advice 17 Sep 2012
Dosing on a budget Advanced Topics Tuesday at 04:19
[wtd] jebao dp4 auto dosing pump Wanted 22 Nov 2016
Dosing phytoplankton and zooplankton. General Discussions and Advice 9 Nov 2016
what can you use for carbon dosing Water Parameters and Additives 6 Nov 2016
[wtd] Dosing controller Wanted 29 Oct 2016
[wtd] Dosing pump and jebao flow pump Wanted 22 Oct 2016