Dosing of Kalkwasser

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by williet, 14 Jan 2012.

  1. williet

    williet Look at the shiny LEDs!!!

    Joined:
    29 Nov 2010
    Posts:
    1,144
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Amanzimtoti
    Hi Guys

    I have today had the shock of my life :eek:!!

    I did an alkalinity test and I was sitting at 5.7dkh!!!! (Where normally I am at 9.9dkh I do have my calcium and Mg balanced to run this)

    It seems because of the highly saturated humidity down here in durbs, I get very little if any evaporation! So I get No Kalkwasser being dosed (so no Calcium and alkalinty being added) No my question I have a dose pump system and I want to toss the Kalkstirrer and go with something more reliable. I have all the stuff needed to do the change to dosing but what do I do for auto topup in respect to PH of the RO before topping it up into my tank ?

    Any advice will be appreciated !!!! :1:
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. finrott

    finrott

    Joined:
    11 May 2007
    Posts:
    116
    Likes Received:
    7
    no issues dude... slowly get it up. i had the same issue here in singapore. what i did was add a fan to my sump to get the evaporation going. alternativly you could get a CA reactor or kalk stirrer. For now i would use a part a and b buffering solution...something like two little fishies
     
  4. butcherman

    butcherman Moderator

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2009
    Posts:
    11,659
    Likes Received:
    284
    Location:
    Kempton Park
    If your CA, and MG is right, I would only dose ALK, maybe seachem, or brightwell?
     
  5. LikesFish

    LikesFish

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2007
    Posts:
    939
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Canada
    I don't think the pH of the RO water for evaporation has any effect on a tank as it will immediately settle at the pH of the tank water.
     
  6. OP
    williet

    williet Look at the shiny LEDs!!!

    Joined:
    29 Nov 2010
    Posts:
    1,144
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Amanzimtoti
    Ok, so I take it there is no need then for ph buffer for the RO water ? Will it not bust PH and Alk ??

    I have sorted out the alk( back to 8) issue with seachem reef builder !

    Awesome stuff!!!
     
  7. LikesFish

    LikesFish

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2007
    Posts:
    939
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Canada
    Remember topup is a small amount of water that drips into the tank. I only worry about making my parameters the same for water change water which is typically a significant %, in my case 20%.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Dosing Kalkwasser Forum Date
kalkwasser dosing General Discussions and Advice 17 Sep 2012
Help on QT dosing and fallow period Quarantine Tanks, Sick fish, QT, Coral help 19 Mar 2017
Dosing Aquaforest help Water Parameters and Additives 7 Mar 2017
Zetlight D100 WiFi Controlled Dosing Pump Jungle Aquatics 19 Feb 2017
[wtd] Dosing Pump Wanted 25 Jan 2017
[wtd] Dosing pump swap for dosing pump Wanted 19 Dec 2016
[wtd] Dosing pump wanted Water Parameters and Additives 7 Dec 2016