Does Ammonia HAVE to spike?

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by Meneer, 30 Mar 2011.

  1. Meneer

    Meneer

    Joined:
    9 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    602
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Brackenfell - Cape Town
    My tank has been running for 2 weeks now with 5kg's of LR.

    I started testing Ammonia every 3/4 days and it was 0.5

    Today I tested Ammonia - 0.5
    Nitrite - NO2-N<0.1 & N02<0.3
    Nitrate - 10mg/l


    Why does my Ammonia not go higher.

    Is it because of only 5kg's in around 350litres(DT & Sump)?


    I do have Stability, - but I have not started dosing...
     
    Last edited: 30 Mar 2011
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Monde

    Monde

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2010
    Posts:
    161
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    West Beach, Cape Town
    I am toooooo new to comment......and I never had an Ammonia "spike" but that was because my rock was fully, fully cured. I had to use a prawn (eating one) to get it going.

    But curious to see the replies so tagging along.
     
  4. Neil H

    Neil H Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    11 May 2008
    Posts:
    2,795
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    JHB
    you may have mature rock which has no die off and as a result will not see a spike.

    However as you add fish the ammonia will spike definately.... each time you add something there is a spike in ammonia and the bacteria then catches up to create a steady state again
     
  5. Kunhardt

    Kunhardt

    Joined:
    21 Oct 2008
    Posts:
    5,234
    Likes Received:
    90
    Location:
    East London
    It does have to spike its the start of the cycle...maybe u missed it...the fact that there is nitrite and nitrates present means that your nitrogen cycle is in process.

    What test kit are u using to test your ammonia?
     
  6. crispin

    crispin

    Joined:
    22 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    12,223
    Likes Received:
    160
    Location:
    Lilliehammer, Norway
    id say you are around 30kg of lr short and thus the amount of biological activity is so low that hom,e test kits cant read the ammonia going up, or to which point it reached.

    Id suggest trying to add more LR so that it can all cycle together else you will get a prolonged cycle due to mini cycles happening everytime you add a litle LR
     
  7. Meneer

    Meneer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    9 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    602
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Brackenfell - Cape Town
    I am using the Sera test kits.

    I do not want to add much more live rock at this stage, because a lot of the xenias and mushrooms that I intend to get comes on a piece of live rock. I am gonna end up having to take out a few hundred rands worth of LR in the end.

    I had at least 3 or 4 of those reddish worms leave the LR and die and is in the process of rotting in my DSB.
     
    Last edited: 31 Mar 2011
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Does Ammonia spike Forum Date
Does adding a water pump slow the heating process? General Discussions and Advice 16 Jun 2016
Does tank size affect fish size? Advanced Topics 11 Apr 2016
why does torch turn to white from brown color? LPS Corals 15 Jan 2016
Does anyone know where to get these? General Discussions and Advice 10 Jul 2015
Does Aiptasia-X really work Nuisance Algae 11 May 2015
How long does a wrasse need ? Marine Fish Discussions 16 Feb 2015
Where does Zoa colour come from? Soft Corals 22 Dec 2014