DIY reef tank control box

Discussion in 'Anything DIY Related' started by QuickenZA, 23 Mar 2015.

  1. QuickenZA

    QuickenZA

    Joined:
    17 Nov 2014
    Posts:
    232
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Roodepoort
    So...since I have about 12 items in my tank that requires power and control over it I have been thinking about setting up a control box / DB box to house all of the cabling and switches that lead to the various units (skimmer, lights, reactors, heaters, etc.) and how to connect power to all of these units. I also want to integrate my temperature controller and my lighting timer into this box.

    I have been looking around to find a cheaper solution than actually setting up a DB box with breakers as switches. My current setup is a multiplug running from a single lead into the cabinet below the tank that houses the sump - for obvious corrosion and water damage reasons I'd like to move this out of the spot it is in now. I'd also like to see how I can give this back up power through a UPS and deep cycle battery.

    Anyone have some ideas? Maybe some pictures of DIY stuff built by anyone out there would be awesome.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,163
    Likes Received:
    1,231
    Location:
    Centurion
    I do not like to hard wire any equipment into a DB box. Need to remove something simple and you need to switch the complete system off to get that heater out. Easier to just unplug it.

    But then again, using plugs costs more to setup.
     
  4. QuickenZA

    QuickenZA Thread Starter

    Joined:
    17 Nov 2014
    Posts:
    232
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Roodepoort
    Thanks, I am guessing that you keep the multiplug outside of the cabinet? Or doesn't it matter?
     
  5. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,163
    Likes Received:
    1,231
    Location:
    Centurion
    My setup the multiplugs are to the side of the tank.

    The fishroom also runs from multiple multiplugs. Each mounted above the tank. I got no wires touching the floor anywhere in the fishroom.

    Long ago, yes I had the multiplugs inside the cabinet.

    Multiplugs are not the best looking option out there. But it is the cheapest to set up.
     
  6. QuickenZA

    QuickenZA Thread Starter

    Joined:
    17 Nov 2014
    Posts:
    232
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Roodepoort
    I think I might just look at getting a multiplug with switches on it. Simple, clean and inexpensive.

    Placement might be in issue - corrosion and moisture within the cabinet, little twitchy and itchy fingers outside of it :)
     
  7. sandersc

    sandersc

    Joined:
    21 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    961
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Paarl Western Cape ZA
    I totally agree with Riaan, on a DB you need to turn off all power, if you want to remove something from tank and DB. What I have done on my DB is I have connectors on most off my equipment, tha I may want to disconnect to clean or for maintenance.

    But you need to keep in mind what Riaan said if you want to go the DB route.
     
  8. mariusmeyer

    mariusmeyer

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    3,054
    Likes Received:
    210
    Location:
    Jukskei Park, JHB
    A potential problem with a DB board is the warranty of the equipment. Some places are very sticky if you cut the plug off.

    Having all the plugs in a nice box with switches etc looks very nice but as with a DB box, replacing something is a mission. I used to have all my multi plugs inside a box with switched on the front. To replace something was a mission.

    Here is a link to the control box I made
    http://www.marineaquariumsa.com/569031-post5.html
     
    Last edited: 23 Mar 2015
  9. Forbes

    Forbes

    Joined:
    4 Dec 2013
    Posts:
    376
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    If you are still looking for ideas, I have been looking at a control system, and I am going to build what is shown in the pictures I have just poste on the makeover I am doing on a cube. If you are interested, I will give you more information.
     
  10. Shepherd1

    Shepherd1

    Joined:
    8 May 2014
    Posts:
    241
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Pretoria East
    Hi Forbes, please PM me some of your ideas. I'm also wanting to do an upgrade.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - reef tank control Forum Date
http://reefbuilders.com/2014/05/29/red-sea-max-ser ies-tanks-leds-controller-riml... JungleAquatics.NET BLOG 30 May 2014
Control for my Reef Tank Anything DIY Related 18 Jan 2009
What local caught butterflies can i try in a reef tank? Marine Fish Discussions 3 Nov 2016
Algae in a reef tank General Discussions and Advice 28 Oct 2016
zooplankton dosing.to.a reef.tank Water Parameters and Additives 20 Oct 2016
The shallow reef tank build is here... Members Systems and Setups 16 Oct 2016
My first Nano reef tank Nano Tanks 18 Sep 2016