DIY Phos and carbon reactor

Discussion in 'Anything DIY Related' started by dogstar, 17 Dec 2008.

  1. dogstar

    dogstar

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    505
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    jhb
    Hi guys,

    Below a pic of what i am building to be a phos and carbon reactor.

    using 50mm pvc, connecting to screw in reducers. I have used the screw in type so that i can open and close the unit to add/remove carbon and phos remover. Both ends will be closed off by cut outs of sponge.

    [​IMG]

    I plan to use just the one unit for both carbon and phos (space issue), the material to be seperated by sponge. Carbon on the top, as i will change this more often.

    Water from a powerhead goes in the bottom and out the top.

    Whats your guys thoughts? Any critical flaws
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Ross

    Ross

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    798
    Likes Received:
    6
    I have been thinking about something similar but using siphon vacuum tubes. My biggest worry is the amount of crud that will build up on the inlet sponge. Will this not turn into a nitrate factory :002:
     
  4. dogstar

    dogstar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    505
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    jhb
    Was worried about the same thing. How do the commercially available reactors combat that?
     
  5. Ross

    Ross

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    798
    Likes Received:
    6
    Maybe they don't because what you are building is really the same as what you would purchase.
     
  6. dogstar

    dogstar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    505
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    jhb
    I hope so. Lets see what the experts think.
     
  7. ziyaadb

    ziyaadb

    Joined:
    18 Jul 2007
    Posts:
    5,566
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    JHB-Lenzz
    see what a Phosban reactor looks like. Not enough sponge to become a nitrate factory

    [​IMG]

    Nice idea thou I was contemplating making 1 like that myself But decided to rather get a waterboy 2 in 1. when i do eventually run carbon and phosphate remover
     
  8. dogstar

    dogstar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    505
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    jhb
    Ziyaad, can you give more information on the waterboy 2 in 1. Is this a separate unit from your normal RO unit? Is it he same size? Any idea of price?
     
  9. Shaun

    Shaun Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 Aug 2007
    Posts:
    5,274
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    KZN
    It is just a RO unit with reusable containers, you can get them from any water filtration place.
     
  10. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
  11. ziyaadb

    ziyaadb

    Joined:
    18 Jul 2007
    Posts:
    5,566
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    JHB-Lenzz
    Yes its separate,smaller, comes with a pump as well i think. Last time i asked him was 850.00
     
  12. leslie hempel

    leslie hempel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    14,546
    Likes Received:
    287
    Location:
    Gonubie East London
    nice neat looking little DIY unit there..
     
  13. mike Bushie

    mike Bushie

    Joined:
    14 Apr 2008
    Posts:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    johannesburg
    i am also building one a bit differently this weekend will post when i am done.
    dogstar nice
     
  14. dogstar

    dogstar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    505
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    jhb
    Greta. Yeah put pics, keen to see how you building yours.
     
  15. Neil H

    Neil H Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    11 May 2008
    Posts:
    2,795
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    JHB
    hi Dogstar,

    Where did you buy the reducers from ?
     
  16. amalick

    amalick

    Joined:
    22 Nov 2008
    Posts:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Cape Town
    DIY Carbon reactor

    I have one of those Luxury Water filters which I used to use to purify normal tap water for top ups. Those where the days when I was a complete noob or "idiot" you guys choose. Now I use RO water and was wondering if I could convert this into a carbon reactor. I could use both chambers for the carbon media that comes with the unit since the original sedement filter would just become a nitrate farm.

    The question are -
    1) Should I use the carbon media that comes with the unit. It cost R225 at DIS Chem and is rated for 4 months use domestically. Not that time should matter its all about throughput i guess.
    2) If I were to plumb it via my chiller pump would the chilled water be a bad thing.
    3) How often would I have to change the carbon media. At R225 a pop I would like to only have to do this quartely.

    [​IMG]
     
  17. Shaun

    Shaun Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 Aug 2007
    Posts:
    5,274
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    KZN
    You get a blank container the same size as that filter, then all you do is fill it with media and then you have your carbon and even PH4 reactor.
     
  18. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,990
    Likes Received:
    782
    For a marine tank you need GAC (Granular Activated Carbon), this ideally needs to be replaced every 2 or 3 weeks, once a month at the most.

    Not a good idea, carbon and phosphate media needs slow flow and I'm pretty sure your chiller pump would be too powerful, although if you could 'T' it off that pump and control the flow through the reactor with a ball valve then it should be fine. It would be much easier just to buy a Resun King 1 pump, they only cost about R60 and the RO tubing fits perfectly into the pump's outlet.

    That's very expensive for carbon, shop around for different brands of GAC, you do get some good cheap carbon. As I said before, you need to change carbon frequently, marine tank water has a lot more in it than tap water and once it has absorbed it's maximum then you run the risk of it leeching nasty stuff back into the tank, thus the reason we need to change it regularly, once a month or less to be safe.
     
  19. Bob the (reef)builder

    Bob the (reef)builder

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    1,779
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Joburg
    You could also find that the carbon gives off huge gobs of phosphate. Human use (what yours is made for) doesn't require no phosphates.
     
  20. Christo

    Christo

    Joined:
    4 Jun 2008
    Posts:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    Vaalpark, Vaaltriangle
    Hey! Dog!

    Nice Looking Unit You have there!
    the only think that I think might be
    a problem that i have encountered
    was sealing the Thread of screw in
    fittings! Tried a Lot of stuff! Let me
    Know How it's doing!

    Cheers!!!!
     
  21. dogstar

    dogstar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    505
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    jhb
    Neil H, got the reducers at the hardware store, irrigation department.

    Christo, i did notice a little bit of leakage from the screw threads, but since this unit sits in my sump its not an issue. I used normal plumbing tape, and it helps a lot.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Phos carbon reactor Forum Date
[wtd] Wanted Phosban / Carbon Reactor Wanted 12 Jan 2014
phosban,np pellet or carbon reactor Wanted 23 Nov 2011
Danimals DIY Phosphate and Carbon Reactor Anything DIY Related 20 Dec 2009
Carbon & Phosphate reactor Anything DIY Related 19 Feb 2008
Phosphate Reactor/Carbon positioning? Water Parameters and Additives 11 Jan 2008
Phosphate and carbon reactors Beginner Discussions 20 Nov 2007
Phosphate and Carbon Reactors Water Parameters and Additives 19 Nov 2007