DIY Phos and carbon reactor

Joined
22 Sep 2008
Posts
505
Reaction score
3
Location
jhb
Hi guys,

Below a pic of what i am building to be a phos and carbon reactor.

using 50mm pvc, connecting to screw in reducers. I have used the screw in type so that i can open and close the unit to add/remove carbon and phos remover. Both ends will be closed off by cut outs of sponge.

17122008476.jpg


I plan to use just the one unit for both carbon and phos (space issue), the material to be seperated by sponge. Carbon on the top, as i will change this more often.

Water from a powerhead goes in the bottom and out the top.

Whats your guys thoughts? Any critical flaws
 
Joined
6 May 2007
Posts
798
Reaction score
6
I have been thinking about something similar but using siphon vacuum tubes. My biggest worry is the amount of crud that will build up on the inlet sponge. Will this not turn into a nitrate factory :002:
 
Joined
22 Sep 2008
Posts
505
Reaction score
3
Location
jhb
I have been thinking about something similar but using siphon vacuum tubes. My biggest worry is the amount of crud that will build up on the inlet sponge. Will this not turn into a nitrate factory :002:
Was worried about the same thing. How do the commercially available reactors combat that?
 
Joined
18 Jul 2007
Posts
5,590
Reaction score
50
Location
JHB-Lenzz
see what a Phosban reactor looks like. Not enough sponge to become a nitrate factory



Nice idea thou I was contemplating making 1 like that myself But decided to rather get a waterboy 2 in 1. when i do eventually run carbon and phosphate remover
 
Joined
22 Sep 2008
Posts
505
Reaction score
3
Location
jhb
Ziyaad, can you give more information on the waterboy 2 in 1. Is this a separate unit from your normal RO unit? Is it he same size? Any idea of price?
 
Joined
18 Jul 2007
Posts
5,590
Reaction score
50
Location
JHB-Lenzz
Ziyaad, can you give more information on the waterboy 2 in 1. Is this a separate unit from your normal RO unit? Is it he same size? Any idea of price?
Yes its separate,smaller, comes with a pump as well i think. Last time i asked him was 850.00
 

leslie hempel

Sponsor
Joined
7 May 2007
Posts
17,136
Reaction score
1,021
Location
Gonubie East London
nice neat looking little DIY unit there..
 

Neil H

Retired Moderator
Joined
11 May 2008
Posts
2,794
Reaction score
57
Location
JHB
hi Dogstar,

Where did you buy the reducers from ?
 
Joined
22 Nov 2008
Posts
1,185
Reaction score
7
Location
Cape Town
DIY Carbon reactor

I have one of those Luxury Water filters which I used to use to purify normal tap water for top ups. Those where the days when I was a complete noob or "idiot" you guys choose. Now I use RO water and was wondering if I could convert this into a carbon reactor. I could use both chambers for the carbon media that comes with the unit since the original sedement filter would just become a nitrate farm.

The question are -
1) Should I use the carbon media that comes with the unit. It cost R225 at DIS Chem and is rated for 4 months use domestically. Not that time should matter its all about throughput i guess.
2) If I were to plumb it via my chiller pump would the chilled water be a bad thing.
3) How often would I have to change the carbon media. At R225 a pop I would like to only have to do this quartely.

1392494e3aadb3cfe.jpg
 

viper357

Admin
Joined
4 May 2007
Posts
29,858
Reaction score
1,392
1) Should I use the carbon media that comes with the unit. It cost R225 at DIS Chem and is rated for 4 months use domestically. Not that time should matter its all about throughput i guess.
For a marine tank you need GAC (Granular Activated Carbon), this ideally needs to be replaced every 2 or 3 weeks, once a month at the most.

2) If I were to plumb it via my chiller pump would the chilled water be a bad thing.
Not a good idea, carbon and phosphate media needs slow flow and I'm pretty sure your chiller pump would be too powerful, although if you could 'T' it off that pump and control the flow through the reactor with a ball valve then it should be fine. It would be much easier just to buy a Resun King 1 pump, they only cost about R60 and the RO tubing fits perfectly into the pump's outlet.

3) How often would I have to change the carbon media. At R225 a pop I would like to only have to do this quartely.
That's very expensive for carbon, shop around for different brands of GAC, you do get some good cheap carbon. As I said before, you need to change carbon frequently, marine tank water has a lot more in it than tap water and once it has absorbed it's maximum then you run the risk of it leeching nasty stuff back into the tank, thus the reason we need to change it regularly, once a month or less to be safe.
 
Joined
7 May 2007
Posts
1,781
Reaction score
32
Location
Joburg
You could also find that the carbon gives off huge gobs of phosphate. Human use (what yours is made for) doesn't require no phosphates.
 
Joined
4 Jun 2008
Posts
1,439
Reaction score
317
Location
Vaalpark, Vaaltriangle
Hey! Dog!

Nice Looking Unit You have there!
the only think that I think might be
a problem that i have encountered
was sealing the Thread of screw in
fittings! Tried a Lot of stuff! Let me
Know How it's doing!

Cheers!!!!
 
Joined
22 Sep 2008
Posts
505
Reaction score
3
Location
jhb
Neil H, got the reducers at the hardware store, irrigation department.

Christo, i did notice a little bit of leakage from the screw threads, but since this unit sits in my sump its not an issue. I used normal plumbing tape, and it helps a lot.
 
Thread starter Similar threads Forum Replies Date
Papitto DIY 6
mcjie DIY 3
Bendor DIY 5
R DIY 19
danimal DIY 23

Similar threads


Top