DIY Automatic Top-up (ATU)

Discussion in 'Anything DIY Related' started by zak, 30 Jun 2011.

  1. zak

    zak

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2011
    Posts:
    772
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    For those that requested, here it is. This is a basic unit, iv drew the circuit to accomodate 3 switches, you only need one. I tried to make it as simple as possible..

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I use the extra switches to switch off the top-up pump when it runs dry and the third for redundancy. I also added an led to indicate the unit is powered up..
     
    Mc and Barend like this.
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. DarrenT

    DarrenT

    Joined:
    23 Jun 2011
    Posts:
    81
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fourways
    you got some mad DIY skills man!
     
  4. butcherman

    butcherman Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2009
    Posts:
    11,626
    Likes Received:
    280
    Location:
    Kempton Park
    WOW impressive!!! Now .... how much?
     
  5. zak

    zak Thread Starter

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2011
    Posts:
    772
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    Float Switches @R50ea
    Relay @R5
    Pump @R80
    5volts Free(use an old cell phone charger)

    Satisfaction when it works: Priceless
     
  6. AndrévN

    AndrévN

    Joined:
    23 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    1,840
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Springs
    Where did you buy the floatswitches from
     
  7. zak

    zak Thread Starter

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2011
    Posts:
    772
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    RS components, range from R50 to R5000
     
  8. AndrévN

    AndrévN

    Joined:
    23 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    1,840
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Springs
    ;)
     
  9. pXius

    pXius

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    1,170
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Weltevreden Park, JHB
    the resistor just for the LED?
     
  10. zak

    zak Thread Starter

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2011
    Posts:
    772
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    Yip
     
    pXius likes this.
  11. pXius

    pXius

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    1,170
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Weltevreden Park, JHB
    and a link to the relay please :D

    nvm found it
     
    Last edited: 30 Jun 2011
  12. zak

    zak Thread Starter

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2011
    Posts:
    772
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    The relay depends on whether you have a 5v or 12v source. Just ask any electronics store to sell you a 5v or 12v relay that can switch 220volts..
     
  13. pXius

    pXius

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    1,170
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Weltevreden Park, JHB
    found a 12V I need :) thanks allot, going to be quite useful.

    Did you get it delivered or did you drive to Midrand?

    Asking cuz I have a few other things I need to get from them.
     
  14. zak

    zak Thread Starter

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2011
    Posts:
    772
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    Guys, please exercise CAUTION when building this, 5v won't kill you but 220v can. If you unsure about wiring, please ask..
     
  15. pXius

    pXius

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    1,170
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Weltevreden Park, JHB
    I know my way around a solder iron. :)

    What almost killed me was the LED fixture I dropped in my tank yesterday.
     
  16. zak

    zak Thread Starter

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2011
    Posts:
    772
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    I'm not far from midrand. RS doesn't always keep stock on hand, especially not float switches..
     
  17. pXius

    pXius

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    1,170
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Weltevreden Park, JHB
    In that case I'll just courier. I fried some leds, 3 I think, can't test until I get the new ones (connected in series), and a new fuse.

    And I need to wait for the LEDs anyway.

    On what did you mount the switches?
     
  18. zak

    zak Thread Starter

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2011
    Posts:
    772
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    It's called veroboard..
     
  19. pXius

    pXius

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    1,170
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Weltevreden Park, JHB
    I mean like in the tank/sump...

    Did you make like a compartment for the switches?
     
  20. Theo

    Theo

    Joined:
    11 Sep 2009
    Posts:
    186
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Pretoria
    Hi Zak. Can you give a diagram of wiring. Would like my hand at DIY ATU...
     
  21. zak

    zak Thread Starter

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2011
    Posts:
    772
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    Not sure what you mean, wiring diagram is the first pic..
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Automatic (ATU) Forum Date
How To Use Korallen-Zucht Automatic Elements Tabs JungleAquatics.NET BLOG 1 Jul 2016
Korallen Zucht Automatic Elements - Dosing Made Easy JungleAquatics.NET BLOG 30 Jun 2016
Automatic fish feeder that fits the boyu tl550 Boyu TL450 and TL550 advice 19 Jun 2016
How To Use Korallen-Zucht Automatic Elements Tabs JungleAquatics.NET BLOG 29 May 2016
Korallen Zucht Automatic Elements - Dosing Made Easy JungleAquatics.NET BLOG 26 Jul 2015
NEW Korallen Zucht Automatic Elements - Dosing made EASY! Jungle Aquatics 13 Jul 2015
Automatic Element Blocks make it super-easy to dose your aquarium with Iron! JungleAquatics.NET BLOG 18 Jun 2015