DIY auto top-up

Discussion in 'DIY' started by Mike, 16 Jan 2008.

  1. Mike

    Mike Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    12 May 2007
    Posts:
    7,859
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    the Motherland
    104478e094ba2f6c.jpg



    Above you will see the float switch assembly, it consists of a float switch - top right, a junction box - top middle, power supply - bottom and power supply to the top up pump (not shown, a small power head or pump with a pipe to the sump from an R/O container)

    You need to wire the live cable (in my case the blue wire) via the float switch to activate only when the float switch drops - a close up of the jb will follow.
     
  2. Guest




  3. OP
    Mike

    Mike Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    12 May 2007
    Posts:
    7,859
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    the Motherland
    104478e0a056a904.jpg


    The jb showing the connections (uk) live = blue, neutral = brown and yellow/green = earth.



    Although not clear on the picture, the red wire from the float switch (right) joins the power supply live and the blue from the float switch joins the pump supply (left)
     
  4. mandarinman

    mandarinman

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2007
    Posts:
    6,377
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    capetown,durbanville
    looks really cool, did u design this ?
     
  5. OP
    Mike

    Mike Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    12 May 2007
    Posts:
    7,859
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    the Motherland
    104478e0a04b89f5.jpg


    And a close up of the float switch.

    Very simple and cheap auto top up, never failed in my tank.(so far):whistling:
     
  6. calvin

    calvin

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    1,452
    Likes Received:
    4
    nothing wrong with that!!
    i would be nervouseof the lack of a alarn !! what if a snail crawls onto the float switch or a bug? you could loose your entire systerm
     
  7. OP
    Mike

    Mike Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    12 May 2007
    Posts:
    7,859
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    the Motherland

    No, i was given this one, so i don't claim any brains behind it, i just use it:thumbup:
     
  8. Kanga

    Kanga Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    4,576
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    In the Koeberg blast radius
    Very Very Neat for a Brit. Good info there

    Pity bout the blue plastic leather couch:whistling:
     
  9. calvin

    calvin

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    1,452
    Likes Received:
    4
    I beleve that is shmeather
     
  10. mandarinman

    mandarinman

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2007
    Posts:
    6,377
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    capetown,durbanville
    could you put some form of cover?or mesh
     
  11. OP
    Mike

    Mike Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    12 May 2007
    Posts:
    7,859
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    the Motherland

    over what? the junction box? it has a lid that i removed to photograph it and water resistant grommets where the wires enter.
     
  12. mandarinman

    mandarinman

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2007
    Posts:
    6,377
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    capetown,durbanville
    nope ,something to keep snails etc away from float
     
  13. sandersc

    sandersc

    Joined:
    21 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    976
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Paarl Western Cape ZA

    Was it given to you by a member of MASA?
     
  14. OP
    Mike

    Mike Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    12 May 2007
    Posts:
    7,859
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    the Motherland
    I kept it in the sump, not the tank, but yes as long as the float was allowed to travel unimpeded it would work.
     
  15. sandersc

    sandersc

    Joined:
    21 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    976
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Paarl Western Cape ZA
    Seeing the "brainy" part , I believe it will be a MASA member!
     
  16. OP
    Mike

    Mike Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    12 May 2007
    Posts:
    7,859
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    the Motherland

    Nope, from the UK
     
  17. calvin

    calvin

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    1,452
    Likes Received:
    4
    weeman is in the uk sanders
     
  18. sandersc

    sandersc

    Joined:
    21 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    976
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Paarl Western Cape ZA

    Am I correct youre not using the live on the pump supply? The blue wire top left of pic.?
     
  19. sandersc

    sandersc

    Joined:
    21 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    976
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Paarl Western Cape ZA

    SH--- what's he doing there? Just joking my friend from Kent.
     
  20. OP
    Mike

    Mike Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    12 May 2007
    Posts:
    7,859
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    the Motherland

    No, the live feed (on the right) is connected to the live pump feed (left) via the red and blue wires from the float switch. (that way the pump only works when the float switch, swtiches it on)
     
  21. OP
    Mike

    Mike Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    12 May 2007
    Posts:
    7,859
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    the Motherland

    That my friend is finest Italian leather none of your plastic rubbish in my house, i even got the little cleaning kit to go with it:lol:
     

Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - auto Forum Date
RSS Eco Fleece Dreambox is the Highest Capacity Auto Filter Roll to date RSS Feeds Monday at 20:02
RSS Xepta AutoBalance Automatically Measures AND Doses Ca, Mg & Alkalinity RSS Feeds 2 Nov 2018
RSS My Take on the Ice Cap Auto Top Off Unit RSS Feeds 18 Oct 2018
RSS MACNA 2018 Las Vegas: Geo’s Reef Automatic Filter Roll Sumps RSS Feeds 6 Oct 2018
[wtd] Auto feeder Wanted 19 Aug 2018
RSS Is Automatic Monitoring of Calcium & Magnesium Necessary? RSS Feeds 20 Jul 2018
ISO a auto feeder for my tank General Discussions and Advice 29 Jun 2018

Share This Page