Display

Discussion in 'Water Parameters and Additives' started by ZeroCool, 17 May 2011.

  1. ZeroCool

    ZeroCool

    Joined:
    3 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Centurion, Pretoria
    Another question from my side ...

    how get can i get my water clarify up ?
     
  2. Guest




  3. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,802
    Likes Received:
    591
    Location:
    Sandton
    you can add GAC or RowaCrystal or ozone
     
  4. Dane

    Dane

    Joined:
    24 Jan 2010
    Posts:
    1,717
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Fregate Island, Seychelles
    Run some filter floss if its looking a bit murky. Always works for me
     
  5. rakabos

    rakabos

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2010
    Posts:
    5,021
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    Wilgeheuwel, JHB
    filter floss works and carbon, one day and it will be crystal clear
     
  6. OP
    ZeroCool

    ZeroCool

    Joined:
    3 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Centurion, Pretoria
    I am looking at a carbon re-actor (but think it might be pricey). still looking what can work within my budget !
     
  7. rakabos

    rakabos

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2010
    Posts:
    5,021
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    Wilgeheuwel, JHB
    no man, just run some carbon in a powerfilter, they go for like R200. I have mine in a bag suspended in the sump's water column so the water can flow over and through it, works hundreds
     
    Last edited: 17 May 2011
  8. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,802
    Likes Received:
    591
    Location:
    Sandton
    no need for a reactor, put carbon in a stocking or filter bag in the sump
     
  9. OP
    ZeroCool

    ZeroCool

    Joined:
    3 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Centurion, Pretoria
    lol, thanks ... i assume the water must flow through it ? or can it be anywhere in the sump ?
     
  10. rakabos

    rakabos

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2010
    Posts:
    5,021
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    Wilgeheuwel, JHB
  11. rakabos

    rakabos

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2010
    Posts:
    5,021
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    Wilgeheuwel, JHB
    As long as the water doesnt crash into it its ok, what u dont want is the carbon granules rubbing, that gives off carbon dust which is ALL BAD. Just make sure there is flow over it.
     
  12. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,802
    Likes Received:
    591
    Location:
    Sandton
    anywhere in the sump, its passive filtration
     
  13. OP
    ZeroCool

    ZeroCool

    Joined:
    3 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Centurion, Pretoria
    mmm, i think around my return chamber where the water flows in, to go back into the tank ... mmm, perfect place. will see if i can get carbon asap somewhere :)
     
  14. rakabos

    rakabos

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2010
    Posts:
    5,021
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    Wilgeheuwel, JHB
    get high quality carbon like seachem. I use SeaGel, it has carbon and phosphate remover in one can, works da bomb
     
  15. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,802
    Likes Received:
    591
    Location:
    Sandton
    you stay near Dorry, give @lanzo a call and get some good grade
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  16. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,802
    Likes Received:
    591
    Location:
    Sandton

    hehe, seachem carbon releases a little of phosphates, hence why they package the 2 together, i think i read it on their site, will look for it

    i use maxi-zorb
     
  17. OP
    ZeroCool

    ZeroCool

    Joined:
    3 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Centurion, Pretoria
    jip dallas ... :) will do

    is phosphate remover required if you have a big skimmer ? Thought it was only a requirement for small systems ?
     
  18. rakabos

    rakabos

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2010
    Posts:
    5,021
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    Wilgeheuwel, JHB
    say what, lol
     
  19. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,802
    Likes Received:
    591
    Location:
    Sandton
    from their site
     
  20. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,802
    Likes Received:
    591
    Location:
    Sandton
    phose remover is always good, a skimmer will remove minimal amounts i think
     
  21. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    24,039
    Likes Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Centurion
    Can also use Ozone to help with water clarity. Research that.
     

Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Display Forum Date
Welcome RED SEA Reefer 425XL White Display Tank JungleAquatics.NET BLOG 4 Mar 2017
200L display with a 330L sump General Discussions and Advice 2 Mar 2017
Bigger sump volume than display tank volume. 200DPT with 200sump Beginner Discussions 1 Mar 2017
Coral Shipment in our New Display Tank. Pet Lovers Emporium 29 Jan 2017
Macro algae in display tank - Yes or No? General Discussions and Advice 7 Dec 2016
Need lights for my display Beginner Discussions 8 Dec 2015
Seaworld axes whale displays General Off Topic chats 11 Nov 2015