Digital Aquatics - Controllers

Discussion in 'Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers' started by Rabbit, 21 Jun 2011.

  1. Rabbit

    Rabbit

    Joined:
    8 Jul 2010
    Posts:
    309
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Kuilsriver
    Hi Guys,

    Stumbled on this today...

    Digital Aquatics

    Looks quite promising ...wonder why nobody ever mentioned this before ? or is there a reason why no-one's using it ?
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. regis

    regis

    Joined:
    2 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    678
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    CAPE TOWN
    I think it has been mentioned before, but was mentioned they were whating for a 220v version
     
  4. AndrévN

    AndrévN

    Joined:
    23 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    1,840
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Springs
    I ordered and paid for one 3yrs ago or so and i was refunded as it is only made for 110v systems and they aint going to design 220v ones as ive emailed them again last year. They just say they not interested in the 220v market. Theyll kick any controllers arse in any aspect but we cant use them.
     
  5. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,983
    Likes Received:
    777
    Why not just buy a 220v to 110v step-down transformer, should be able to get one for under R100.
     
  6. butcherman

    butcherman Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2009
    Posts:
    11,626
    Likes Received:
    280
    Location:
    Kempton Park
    problem i think comes in when you need to control your 220v pumps as you will then need a step up transformer for everything you want to control
     
  7. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,983
    Likes Received:
    777
    Ah right, of course, sorry, blonde moment there.:blush:
     
  8. butcherman

    butcherman Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2009
    Posts:
    11,626
    Likes Received:
    280
    Location:
    Kempton Park
    :stupid:i have those too
     
  9. AndrévN

    AndrévN

    Joined:
    23 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    1,840
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Springs
    Yep on the plug adaptor outputs and controls thats where the problem is
     
  10. lIghty

    lIghty

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    I wonder why, having a look through their product details, it seems that with some minor software and hardware changes it can be achieved.

    For those more technically (electronics) minded, it appears that only the integrated power supply and Triacs (doubt they use relays?) within the Plug Bar would have to be changed for 220V rated components and the software/firmware be adjusted for 50hz as I see it used ZVC/soft start.

    Any comments?
     
  11. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,769
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    it looks like its just the power bar, so one can switch it out and change the plug sockets as well...
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Digital Aquatics Controllers Forum Date
Digital Aquatics-Reefkeeper Elite with Net Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers 6 Dec 2011
STC1000 - Digital Temperature Controllers Reef Aquatics 1 Feb 2014
Urgent help needed juwel digital thermometer Urgent Help Needed 16 Mar 2013
juwel digital thermometer General Discussions and Advice 16 Mar 2013
[wtd] Digital water parameters test kits wanted Wanted 24 Feb 2013
Digital thermometer SNAFU Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers 15 Jan 2013
Looking pH,orp temp digital monitor Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers 27 Sep 2012