Diatoms

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by CPTG, 15 Jul 2009.

  1. CPTG

    CPTG

    Joined:
    30 May 2009
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Windhoek Namibia
    How does on reduce diatomes in the aquarium, will carbon work?:yeahdude:
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. riyadhessa

    riyadhessa

    Joined:
    21 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    3,370
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Cape Town
    How old is your tank...
     
  4. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Just to answer the 2nd part of your question, CPTG - no - carbon will not work. As Carbon does not remove silicates from the water.

    Try the "Phosphate Sponge" - I am not 100% sure what brand this is - possibly either Tunze, or SeaChem.... I believe that this removes silicates from the water.

    BUT, as Riyad asked - how long have your tank been running in it's current state?

    As diatoms MOSTLY only occur during the cycling period of the tank?
     
  5. Tony

    Tony

    Joined:
    23 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    4,093
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Honeydew, Johannesburg
    Also make sure you use RO water for all your top ups and water changes. Most phosphate sponges adsorb silicates
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Diatoms Forum Date
DIATOMS on sand bed. Nuisance Algae 16 Nov 2016
Diatoms ID Needed 5 Feb 2016
Diatoms / Algae Problem - Please Help Beginner Discussions 15 Jul 2015
New Tank Cycle: Diatoms Beginner Discussions 2 Dec 2014
Struggling with diatoms cyano then yuppie have the solution Yuppie Pets 16 Jul 2014
What is this? Cyano? Diatoms? General Discussions and Advice 24 May 2014
What is this? Cyano or Diatoms? Beginner Discussions 18 May 2013