Detailed form submitted: Tiger eye

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by Tiger eye, 3 Sep 2010.

  1. Tiger eye

    Tiger eye

    Joined:
    2 Aug 2010
    Posts:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Centurion, PTA
    Detailed help request
    Are you experiencing any problems in your tank?
    Yes
    Brief Description
    Hi guys my problem is with my light balasts. I have 2x 39w balasts that runs 2x T5 tubes each (in series). 1 light was defective from the begining so 2 lighs was not working so i got a light from Dewald and put it in, now those 2 lights are working but now the other 2 is stufing around. When i conect the power they work for a couple of minutes and then die on me and when i unplug them and plug them back in they work again for a couple of minutes and then die again. Both balasts are conected on the same plug and the same timer.

    Can somebody please help? i'm not to clued up on electrical stuf.
    Tank size
    915mm x 350mm x 380mm
    System Volume
    +-200 L
    How long has your tank been running?
    5 weeks
    What livestock do you have?
    2 heads of zoanthids
    Water Parameters
    Alkalinity (dkh):
    Calcium:
    Phosphate:
    Magnesium:
    pH: 8.5
    Nitrite: 0
    Nitrate: 10
    Ammonia: 0
    Salinity: 1.025
    Temperature: 25
    What lighting is over the tank?
    4x T5
    Pumps and equipment
    -
    Maintenance
    -
    Other info and photo's.
    -
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,988
    Likes Received:
    781
    Just to clarify things a bit.

    You have one ballast with 2 tubes that is running 100%, no problems with it?

    Your other ballast keeps switching the bulbs off after a couple of minutes?

    Is that right?

    If so, have you tried swapping the tubes around? Take the 2 tubes that are working and swop them with the 2 tubes that are switching off. If they still switch off then we know it is a problem with the ballast.

    Is your ballast a proper T5 ballast? Have you followed the wiring diagram on top of the ballast correctly?
     
  4. Pads

    Pads

    Joined:
    18 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    689
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Joburg, Bryanston
    I did a DIY light hood with MH's and T5's, I got 1 x Dual 54w Vossloch Schwabe to run my two Actinics and I had the same effect as you. I rewired the ballast globes 3 times with different wires each time, I even had the lighting supplier wire it up with new end caps and wire but the problem persisted so I bought new globes, with no success.

    Final decision, I changed the ballast to Osram. All working 100%. I spend many hours, much petrol to make this conclusion, hope it saves you some. :1:
     
  5. Tiger eye

    Tiger eye Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2 Aug 2010
    Posts:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Centurion, PTA

    You understood corectly.
    I have not swapt the bulbs but ill do that tonight.

    yes it is proper T5 ballasts and i followed the diagram to the letter.
     
  6. Tiger eye

    Tiger eye Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2 Aug 2010
    Posts:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Centurion, PTA
    Was it a overload problem that the Vossloch Schwabe could not handel or just a faulty ballast?
     
  7. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,988
    Likes Received:
    781
    Swop the bulbs tonight and see if it makes a difference, sometimes a faulty bulb can cause the ballast to switch both bulbs off, if it's still the same then we know that it is definitely the ballast.

    What wiring did you use to wire up the ballast? If it is too thick it can also cause problems. Also the length of the wiring can make a difference, it should say on top of the ballast what the maximum length should be, it's normally about max 1 meter for the one side and max 2 metres for the other side.

    Also make sure the wires are firmly seated in the end caps.
     
    Last edited: 3 Sep 2010
  8. Pads

    Pads

    Joined:
    18 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    689
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Joburg, Bryanston
    I have a feeling that the Vossloh Schwabe ballast does not have a high enough output voltage for the Actinics, it was tested with standard osram globes 4500k or the likes and worked, I'm taking a guess here but I think the difference in voltage was 360v compared with like 450v, I'd need to confirm that number though. See how you go.
     
  9. Tiger eye

    Tiger eye Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2 Aug 2010
    Posts:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Centurion, PTA
    I checked the wiring thickness and length and fitment and all is fine.
    Can it bee that becorse it runs of one plug becorse when it was just one ballast working (the one that is now stuffing around) it was working fine with no problems?
     
  10. Tiger eye

    Tiger eye Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2 Aug 2010
    Posts:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Centurion, PTA
    I found the problem. It was the old blue bulb that has given in.
    now to find a new one.
    Thanks for the intrest and the info guys, i would have gone and spend a fortune.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Detailed form submitted Forum Date
Detailed form submitted: 2una General Discussions and Advice 14 Sep 2015
Detailed form submitted: Forbes General Discussions and Advice 27 Mar 2015
Detailed form submitted: viskop kenny General Discussions and Advice 26 Feb 2015
Detailed form submitted: kassimere General Discussions and Advice 8 Jan 2015
Detailed form submitted: Midnight Reefer General Discussions and Advice 10 Dec 2014
Detailed form submitted: Johan123 General Discussions and Advice 29 Jul 2014
Detailed form submitted: Penny General Discussions and Advice 25 Jun 2014