Cycling

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by Kunhardt, 18 Nov 2008.

1. Kunhardt

Kunhardt

Its weird with all the thousands of threads in this forum i havent found one that has a lot of info on cycling a tank. I understand how the cycle works and why u need to do it, but my question is this...

I am getting a new 3ft tank soon, upgrading from the headache i call my 10 gallon nano, as i am hoping to add a sump, skimmer and with larger water quantity getting a more stable system. I plan on transfering the inhabitants of my 10 gallon tank to the new system, but what i want to know is if i have to wait out a full cycling of the new tank or, if i can add my live rock, water and sand from my old tank would that be enough to sustain the tank? My feeling is no, but i am not an expert. Also is there a way to cycle water in the mean while for a new system before i get it and start it up? Would the water that in my bin for water changes be cycling at this moment? or would it need something in there as well to cycle in there? maybe if i buy some live rock and add it to the water bin it would cycle and i could start up the tank straight away?
    I fear ppl are going to start shouting "NOOOO!!!!" :nono: but u never know unless u ask.
    I suppose some clarity needs to be made to me on what actually gets cycled, the water only or does the sand bed go through a cycling process too?

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Neil H

Neil H Moderator MASA Contributor

Hi Kunhardt,

i am no expert but the way i understand things is that the heart of the system is the bacteria, and the bacteria live in the DSB....... i would suggest that IF you could set up the sump for your new system, with DSb etc and plumb it into your current system then your cycle time may be greatly reduced... very little bacteria is contained within the water column....

4. Kunhardt

Kunhardt Thread Starter