Cycling my tank?

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by rudeboy1, 1 May 2012.

  1. rudeboy1

    rudeboy1

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2011
    Posts:
    167
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Hi All

    Here is my situation. I have set up a 350l tank now just to keep fish. I have in my sump in the first chamber filter floss and black sponge, 2nd chamber a reeftek ts2 protein skimmer, 3rd chamber ceramic rings ( matured thanks to perky pets ), 4th chamber bio balls and the final chamber a return pump.

    I have started cycling the tank. I have added 2 dead prawns on Saturday, then added 2 vials of prodibio biodigest Sunday night and then 2 vials of stop ammo last night.

    I have been testing the the night before last, last night and tonight and the ammonia and nitrate is not there. Its all reading 0.

    My lights are off all the time and the protein skimmer is running all the time.

    Can I maybe add one fish in now to test the water? How do I know if the tank is ready? I have added the nitrifying bacteria but now I need a source of ammonia. Should I just feed the tank flakes so long or can I add a fish? Is the prawns that i put in to rot suitable enough?

    The tank is about 1 week old now.

    Please advise.

    Thank you!
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. rudeboy1

    rudeboy1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2011
    Posts:
    167
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Cape Town
    bump
     
  4. mandarinman

    mandarinman

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2007
    Posts:
    6,377
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    capetown,durbanville
    Did you put some liverock in tank?
     
  5. mandarinman

    mandarinman

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2007
    Posts:
    6,377
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    capetown,durbanville
    Leave the tank to cycle properly for a few weeks the true cycle imcludes diatoms and som algae
     
  6. SlumiesBoi

    SlumiesBoi

    Joined:
    24 Nov 2010
    Posts:
    94
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    East London
    Yeah I agree leave the tank for a few weeks, better to take it slow than to rush it and loose all your stock along the line
     
  7. rudeboy1

    rudeboy1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2011
    Posts:
    167
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Thanx guys. I never added in any live rock. The ceramic rings I had though are atleast 2 years old. So its got a bit of bacteria in there but ill give it some time.

    I still got those tanks if you want them Mandarinman!
     
  8. SlumiesBoi

    SlumiesBoi

    Joined:
    24 Nov 2010
    Posts:
    94
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    East London
    And I dunno know bout the bio-balls hey, I removed mine from my tank about 2 years back because they tend to keep detritus and form into nitrate factory
     
  9. rudeboy1

    rudeboy1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2011
    Posts:
    167
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Its for quick filtration. Fish will be moving quite frequently. I am trying to breed fish and get certain fish like mandarins to eat frozen food. Its not gonna be housing fish constantly.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Cycling tank Forum Date
Marine Tank Not Cycling Water Parameters and Additives 10 Oct 2016
Quarantine Tank & Cycling DT Quarantine Tanks, sick fish, QT corals 12 Jul 2016
New to Forum and New Tank Cycling New Members 20 Jun 2016
Water parameters on a cycling tank Beginner Discussions 30 Oct 2015
Tank cycling for a week Beginner Discussions 24 Aug 2015
Cheato while tank is cycling Biological/Natural Filtration and Deep Sand Beds 13 Feb 2015
cycling a tank Beginner Discussions 6 Sep 2013