cycling a tank

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by Neil H, 6 Apr 2009.

  1. Neil H

    Neil H Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    11 May 2008
    Posts:
    2,795
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    JHB
    Out of interest,

    assuming that all other equipment is in place, i.e. heaters pumps etc, can one start a tank cycling WITHOUT a skimmer??

    reason i ask is that my TS1 is only arriving in a week or two, and i want to start cycling as soon as possible !!
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Tony

    Tony

    Joined:
    23 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    4,093
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Honeydew, Johannesburg
    Yes you can. Add your live rock and let her rip
     
  4. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    for sure!
    i dont have any skimmers :)
     
  5. Neil H

    Neil H Thread Starter Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    11 May 2008
    Posts:
    2,795
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    JHB
    cool..... DOWN with the old FW tank...... welcome to my frag tank !!!! ......
     
  6. Neil H

    Neil H Thread Starter Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    11 May 2008
    Posts:
    2,795
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    JHB
    another Q for you gents ....

    i have 2 x 3ft tanks.... one with a stand the other not. my idea at this stage was to use the one as a frag grow out area and the other as the sump, but looking at the space available i was thinking of rather running an in tank DSB, then splitting the sump in half for an RO resivoir on the one side to house top up water ....then running the skimmer and carbon etc in the other half..... the DT DSB would prob only be half of the DT lenght though !
     
  7. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    how high is the 3ft?
    if u filled the whole tank with 12cm sand, and left about 3-4cm gap then used eggcrate to make stand u should be fine, corals are also there own filters and since the water depth wont be to bad u can get away with using t8's and t5's as u looking at about 10cm of water depth

    this is how my 2fts are running for frags
     
  8. knut-ove

    knut-ove

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    245
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Norway
    dallasg. out of curiosity, why do you want to run your tank without a skimmer??
    I am sure you can make a good deal on one in the classified section ;)
     
  9. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    all my tanks have skimmers, i just dont use them.

    why because i am trying different ways to do the same thing.

    my nano, which is 55L has no skimmer, and everything is going well, my corals are growing, fish and inverts are happy, so there is no real need for them.

    eg, my candy cane had 3 heads when i got it 3 weeks ago, now i have 5 heads, look at my nano thread
     
  10. crispin

    crispin

    Joined:
    22 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    12,223
    Likes Received:
    160
    Location:
    Lilliehammer, Norway
    you could START your cycle without a skimmer, but you are intellugent enough to see through the crap about skimmers being useless so get that ts1 as soon as you can. I have a feeling you know a little about the advantages of removing crap from a system with a skimmer.
     
  11. Mouse

    Mouse

    Joined:
    21 Oct 2008
    Posts:
    853
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Blouberg by the sea
    Crispy you crack me up ;)
     
  12. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    would hate u to start without a skimmer, better listen to crispin, even though i stated u can just start the cycle without one and add it later
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - cycling tank Forum Date
Marine Tank Not Cycling Water Parameters and Additives 10 Oct 2016
Quarantine Tank & Cycling DT Quarantine Tanks, sick fish, QT corals 12 Jul 2016
New to Forum and New Tank Cycling New Members 20 Jun 2016
Water parameters on a cycling tank Beginner Discussions 30 Oct 2015
Tank cycling for a week Beginner Discussions 24 Aug 2015
Cheato while tank is cycling Biological/Natural Filtration and Deep Sand Beds 13 Feb 2015
cycling a tank Beginner Discussions 6 Sep 2013