Cycling a tank

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by Smithers, 8 May 2007.

  1. Smithers

    Smithers

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    1,097
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Hillcrest
    I have been wondering about this for a while and it may be a stupid question.
    If I start a NEW tank with synthetic salt, new aragonite and artificial rock and do not add any live rock or sand will the tank still cycle properly. Is it imperitive to add a small amount of live rock/sand to get the bacteria
    population started ? Or could I use something like Cycle or an equivalent to boost the bacterial population.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Mashrie

    Mashrie

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    134
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Hi Smithers,

    The tank wont cycle properly? Wont cycle at all more like it.
    You'll definitely need some live rock in there, to get the nitrogen cycle going.
    If you add no live rock(Thus adding no bacteria), then when you add a fish you will have no nitrifying bacteria to break down the ammonia(Fish poop) to nitrite and no denitrifying bacteria to break the nitritate further down to nitrate.
    Conclusion: Add some live Rock.:)
     
  4. Copperband

    Copperband

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    842
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Jo'kwane
    you can do that or the "slow" approach is to cycle the tank with just food, pop a prawn in. I've also heard ppl cycle with molly's. Then add the LR and wait for another mini cycle
     
  5. Waynan

    Waynan

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town - Noordhoek
    The prawn (dead not an alive one) approach would work best in that situation...
     
  6. Galibore

    Galibore Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,829
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Germiston
    Sorry to disagree with you. The setup will cycle with almost nothin in it. It is just bound to take much longer and only be able to support a very light bioload. Bacteria will grow on almost anything and they will be in almost any water including tap water. Maybe even in R.O. water.
     
  7. Copperband

    Copperband

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    842
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Jo'kwane
    well in essence they do grow in some form of RO, we just add salt to the RO and most salts "claim" no PO4, NO2, NO3
     
  8. Mashrie

    Mashrie

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    134
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Interesting...
    Sure bacteria will grow, but not to the standards us reefnuts want!!:lol:
     
  9. Galibore

    Galibore Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,829
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Germiston
    Agreed.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Cycling tank Forum Date
Marine Tank Not Cycling Water Parameters and Additives 10 Oct 2016
Quarantine Tank & Cycling DT Quarantine Tanks, sick fish, QT corals 12 Jul 2016
New to Forum and New Tank Cycling New Members 20 Jun 2016
Water parameters on a cycling tank Beginner Discussions 30 Oct 2015
Tank cycling for a week Beginner Discussions 24 Aug 2015
Cheato while tank is cycling Biological/Natural Filtration and Deep Sand Beds 13 Feb 2015
cycling a tank Beginner Discussions 6 Sep 2013