Cyano: what would you do?

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by Matt, 6 Jun 2008.

  1. Matt

    Matt MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    5 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    1,906
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    JHB
    I've recently developed a bit of cyano on the substrate in the front of my tank. The tank is 130L with 45X flow in it, so I don't think flow is the problem.

    Now I do 10% water changes weekly (13L), and with such a small volume can't spend money on a RO unit. So I buy my RO from VIP pets in Northgate (20L drum every 2 weeks).

    In saying that this could be the source of my troubles... Any advice on what you guys would do?

    I've also seen on some sites people mention that cyanobacteria is often part of a new tank cycling (moved over to this new tank about 3 months ago), and that they often wait it out and it resolves itself. That being said, its in no way taking over or anything, just looks a little kak.

    Advice? Many thanks ;)
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    ok the way i remove Cyano.
    Regular water changes (15% a week), skim very wet.run po4 remover
     
  4. Matt

    Matt Thread Starter MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    5 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    1,906
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    JHB
    I'm doing all that possibly up water change to 15% weekly...
     
  5. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    Sorry to say, there is your problem. I have tested there water and or though not particular high on the TDS (5-6) I kept getting Cyano till I started running my own RO.
     
  6. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    Warr,a TDS upto 10 is still safe
     
  7. Midasblenny

    Midasblenny

    Joined:
    11 May 2007
    Posts:
    855
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Randburg-Gauteng
    As soon as RO water leaves the unit and enters another container the TDS will climb due to dust, carbonates etc within the drum itself so i wouldn`t blame VIP as their unit is only some months old and i personally tested the water and the TDS was 0.
     
  8. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    makes sense Robin.i tested the TDS of my RO comming outa the pipe and got a TDS of 2.tested the TDS of my RO reservoir,TDS was 15
     
  9. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    Not always, How do you know the chemicals making up the 10 is not phosphate, the only safe TDS reading is 0.
     
  10. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    i dunno,Marco said so :p
     
  11. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    Don't get me wrong, I like the guys at VIP, but soon as I changed over to my own Zero rated RO, Cyano disappeared. And this was with the same livestock, flow and feeding regime. Maybe they have changed their membranes since I last used their RO, or I have weird dust in my 25L drum :whistling:
     
  12. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    Keeping the RO at zero can be expensive, and chance of phosphate only making up the 10 reading is slight, but i rather not take the chance, I have enough challenges as it is keeping my reef happy, without now adding some Cyano shit to the mix ;)
     
  13. Matt

    Matt Thread Starter MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    5 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    1,906
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    JHB
    Sucks, I can't afford a RO unit especially when I have such a small tank and would only make like 10L a week! :(
     
  14. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    Get from me for a couple of weeks and see if it makes a difference.
     
  15. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    And if you like the water we'll do a fragging deal ;)
     
  16. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    If I may put a spanner in the wheel here, guys - Matt - IF the cyano is not bothering your corals at the moment, perhaps give it a week or so.... leave it and see what happens. If it stays the same for this period, or increases, then do something about it.... Otherwise, just leave it to dissipate...
     
  17. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    thats true.just giving a thumb rule here.i dont ever let my TDS rise more than 5 though
     
  18. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    Nice to hear
     
  19. Mike

    Mike Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    12 May 2007
    Posts:
    7,859
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    the Motherland
    Matt, just because you have lots of flow, it doesn't mean the flow is put to it's best use, if cyano is on the sand you need to adjust the powerheads a tiny bit, as flow is also a very good way to combat cyano.
     
  20. Matt

    Matt Thread Starter MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    5 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    1,906
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    JHB
    Wee-Man: thanks mate, thats just what i've done. I've put one powerhead right at the back of the tank near the bottom blowing through the liverock towards the front, and then another one flowing from right to left... Less surface agitation but hopefully better flow
     
  21. Mike

    Mike Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    12 May 2007
    Posts:
    7,859
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    the Motherland
    As long as there some surface aggitation you should be ok.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Cyano Forum Date
Cyano Nuisance Algae 17 Sep 2016
Cyano (Red Slime Algae) General Discussions and Advice 13 Jan 2016
Have a nasty Cyano Red Slime Algae Outbreak in your aquarium? Use Chemiclean to... JungleAquatics.NET BLOG 18 Jun 2015
Comp: Getting rid of cyano Competitions 4 Nov 2014
Not winning the battle against Cyano Nuisance Algae 22 Sep 2014
Red cyano General Discussions and Advice 2 Aug 2014
Struggling with diatoms cyano then yuppie have the solution Yuppie Pets 16 Jul 2014