Cyano: what would you do?

Joined
5 Jan 2008
Posts
1,976
Reaction score
41
Location
JHB
I've recently developed a bit of cyano on the substrate in the front of my tank. The tank is 130L with 45X flow in it, so I don't think flow is the problem.

Now I do 10% water changes weekly (13L), and with such a small volume can't spend money on a RO unit. So I buy my RO from VIP pets in Northgate (20L drum every 2 weeks).

In saying that this could be the source of my troubles... Any advice on what you guys would do?

I've also seen on some sites people mention that cyanobacteria is often part of a new tank cycling (moved over to this new tank about 3 months ago), and that they often wait it out and it resolves itself. That being said, its in no way taking over or anything, just looks a little kak.

Advice? Many thanks ;)
 
Joined
5 Jan 2008
Posts
1,976
Reaction score
41
Location
JHB
I'm doing all that possibly up water change to 15% weekly...
 
Joined
28 Dec 2007
Posts
12,781
Reaction score
31
Location
JHB
Now I do 10% water changes weekly (13L), and with such a small volume can't spend money on a RO unit. So I buy my RO from VIP pets in Northgate (20L drum every 2 weeks).
Sorry to say, there is your problem. I have tested there water and or though not particular high on the TDS (5-6) I kept getting Cyano till I started running my own RO.
 
Joined
11 May 2007
Posts
861
Reaction score
10
Location
Randburg-Gauteng
As soon as RO water leaves the unit and enters another container the TDS will climb due to dust, carbonates etc within the drum itself so i wouldn`t blame VIP as their unit is only some months old and i personally tested the water and the TDS was 0.
 

Mekaeel

Moderator
Joined
8 May 2007
Posts
24,226
Reaction score
130
Location
Point Waterfront Durban
As soon as RO water leaves the unit and enters another container the TDS will climb due to dust, carbonates etc within the drum itself so i wouldn`t blame VIP as their unit is only some months old and i personally tested the water and the TDS was 0.
makes sense Robin.i tested the TDS of my RO comming outa the pipe and got a TDS of 2.tested the TDS of my RO reservoir,TDS was 15
 
Joined
28 Dec 2007
Posts
12,781
Reaction score
31
Location
JHB
As soon as RO water leaves the unit and enters another container the TDS will climb due to dust, carbonates etc within the drum itself so i wouldn`t blame VIP as their unit is only some months old and i personally tested the water and the TDS was 0.
Don't get me wrong, I like the guys at VIP, but soon as I changed over to my own Zero rated RO, Cyano disappeared. And this was with the same livestock, flow and feeding regime. Maybe they have changed their membranes since I last used their RO, or I have weird dust in my 25L drum :whistling:
 
Joined
28 Dec 2007
Posts
12,781
Reaction score
31
Location
JHB
i dunno,Marco said so :p
Keeping the RO at zero can be expensive, and chance of phosphate only making up the 10 reading is slight, but i rather not take the chance, I have enough challenges as it is keeping my reef happy, without now adding some Cyano shit to the mix ;)
 
Joined
5 Jan 2008
Posts
1,976
Reaction score
41
Location
JHB
Sucks, I can't afford a RO unit especially when I have such a small tank and would only make like 10L a week! :(
 

jacquesb

Retired Moderator
Joined
29 May 2007
Posts
17,868
Reaction score
71
Location
Cape Town
If I may put a spanner in the wheel here, guys - Matt - IF the cyano is not bothering your corals at the moment, perhaps give it a week or so.... leave it and see what happens. If it stays the same for this period, or increases, then do something about it.... Otherwise, just leave it to dissipate...
 

Mekaeel

Moderator
Joined
8 May 2007
Posts
24,226
Reaction score
130
Location
Point Waterfront Durban
Keeping the RO at zero can be expensive, and chance of phosphate only making up the 10 reading is slight, but i rather not take the chance, I have enough challenges as it is keeping my reef happy, without now adding some Cyano shit to the mix ;)
thats true.just giving a thumb rule here.i dont ever let my TDS rise more than 5 though
 

Mike

Retired Moderator
Joined
12 May 2007
Posts
7,859
Reaction score
31
Location
the Motherland
Matt, just because you have lots of flow, it doesn't mean the flow is put to it's best use, if cyano is on the sand you need to adjust the powerheads a tiny bit, as flow is also a very good way to combat cyano.
 
Joined
5 Jan 2008
Posts
1,976
Reaction score
41
Location
JHB
Wee-Man: thanks mate, thats just what i've done. I've put one powerhead right at the back of the tank near the bottom blowing through the liverock towards the front, and then another one flowing from right to left... Less surface agitation but hopefully better flow
 

Mike

Retired Moderator
Joined
12 May 2007
Posts
7,859
Reaction score
31
Location
the Motherland
Wee-Man: thanks mate, thats just what i've done. I've put one powerhead right at the back of the tank near the bottom blowing through the liverock towards the front, and then another one flowing from right to left... Less surface agitation but hopefully better flow
As long as there some surface aggitation you should be ok.
 

Top