Cyano Psycho

Discussion in 'Nuisance Algae' started by mnd123, 16 Jan 2009.

  1. mnd123

    mnd123

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    1,753
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Fourways Gardens
    Hi all,

    I have been battling a very bad Cyano outbreak since I upgraded my lights, I have really tried a lot of things and just want to make sure that I get all my bases covered. I upgraded from 2 x T8s to 6 x T5's (2 x Giesemann 15000K, 2 x Giesemann Pure Actinic, 2 x ATI 8000K) all done over a period of about 3 weeks. It is starting to cover my stars, my hammer, my goniopora and now my zoos and I do not want to lose anything!

    So far I have:

    1) Pointed my powerheads at the worst areas directly, it seems to enjoy this and waves in the breeze at me, other than that no change
    2) Done 2 x 25% water changes in a week
    3) Put a Carbon reactor (DIY) in the sump and change it every 3 days
    4) Put airstones in the sump
    5) Siphoned the Cyano out at every waterchange
    6) Started skimming very wet

    My readings are good, all done with Tropic Marin test kits:

    NO2 = 0ppm
    NO3 = 0ppm
    NH3 = 0ppm
    PO4 = 0ppm (done with Tropic Marin and Salifert)
    Ca = 402ppm
    Mg = 1200ppm
    Temp = 26
    Salinity = 1.024
    Ph = 8.5
    Alk = 7


    As far as I can see above, and the fact that algae does not live long I do not have an issue with my readings, and they have been stable for 6 months. Only ones I am worried about are Alk and Ph

    Tank is 1200x450x450 and I have 3 x SEIO m820's in the tank (3200l/hour) and a Astro 3000 return rated at 1900l/hour (with a 1m head), so flow is not my pain

    I use Tropic Marin Pro Reef salt, and only use RO from my Waterboy Evolution, TDS=0ppm according to test pen.

    Having said all of that, it does seem to be that the Cyano is starting to mat and go a little brown, and stringing all over the place (which I think means I may be winning), but it is so bad that I do not really see that I am winning - does anyone have anything else that I can try?

    I have been looking at an algae scrubber from some of the other threads, will this help?

    Thanks!

    Marc
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    taggin along, my tank is still in the first days
     
  4. brentnorm

    brentnorm

    Joined:
    6 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    2,198
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Have you wiped what you can off the glass ?
     
  5. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Marc - SOMETHING must be "feeding" the cyano in your tank. So, I would definitely say that an algae scrubber will help.....

    BUT, you must also find the main source of the "food", feeding the cyano.

    Cyano is bacteria, as you know. Bacteria with chlorophyl in it - that's why cyano responds to light.....
    I know that you show that you BARELY have any nutrients in the water.... but, this could be "used up" by the cyano, from the water.... BUT, there might be detritus or other organics leaching out localized nutrients....

    Try and use either a turkey baster, or a loose power-head.... and blow a stream of water in the area where the cyano is located..... firstly, blow the cyano off, then see if you can see "detritus" (dust) that comes out off/from the area where the cyano was....

    If this is the case, then that would most likely be your cause....
     
  6. mnd123

    mnd123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    1,753
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Fourways Gardens
    Not a prob on the glass, is a prob on the substrate and rocks.
     
  7. brentnorm

    brentnorm

    Joined:
    6 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    2,198
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Cape Town
    What about your sump ? Do you have there too and do you have a light in your sump ?
     
  8. brentnorm

    brentnorm

    Joined:
    6 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    2,198
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Can you post a picture so we can have a look ?
     
  9. Mike

    Mike Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    12 May 2007
    Posts:
    7,859
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    the Motherland
    It could be that the P04 is being used up by the cyano before it hits your test kit,
    how long are your lights on for?
    how old is your sand bed and where did you get it from?
    can you syphon off the worst of it when you do water changes - though stick to 10% at a time as any more might be affecting your chemistry,
    have you tested the newly mixed water before adding?
    what do you feed your fish and how much?
     
  10. brentnorm

    brentnorm

    Joined:
    6 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    2,198
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Was going to say try running some sort of PO4 remover too.
     
  11. mnd123

    mnd123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    1,753
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Fourways Gardens
    Jaques, thanks for thoughts - I even stopped feeding my fish and corals for a few days - no change. There is a certain amount of detritus on the substrate in areas, but I vacuum the substrate at every water change at the moment (and that has been every 4 days recently)

    I have tried to clear up as much as possible and I have a refugium with LR and 2 x DSB's (one is aragonite, the other playsand) and a large amount of Chaeto (which does not grow as the nutrients are not good enough - I had to get more as my first "ball" stayed the same size.)


    I am very anti blowing this stuff off as it settles elsewhere - but yes there is a bit of detritus, but as I said I do siphon.. also there is no detritus on the rocks, overflow perspex and powerheads and they have a healthy "wig" of Cyano.....
     
  12. mnd123

    mnd123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    1,753
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Fourways Gardens
    Mike I have been testing my PO4 for months every week and always 0ppm, I have no algae issues and as I said this started when I upgraded my lights - also where would it come from? I started at 0ppm and have always been there - I am VERY particular about my RO and change filters at regular intervals

    This is a good one and was something I wondered about. My actinics come on at 9AM, the whites at 10AM - whites off at 8PM and actinics off at 9PM. Fuge is on a reverse cycle, and is 9PM to 9AM

    Sand bed in the tank I bought with the tank new from LFS, seeded from scratch wihen I cycled. DSB's - playsand no seeding, aragonite was bought from LFS unseeded too.

    I do this every time I do a water change now - take all of it out - its back within 3 days

    I have not, I could try this, I test my RO every time I make salt water at 0ppm and I use GOOD salt (I am told :)), so cannot see why this would be an issue?

    Feed my fish a mix, once a day, some days Dr Basslers pellets, sometimes flake, sometime Mysis - always just enough for the fish (small load - 2 small tangs, 2 false percs and 6 line as well as 4 shrimps and a few hermits) to eat in a few minutes. I do feed my Goniopora a mix of cyclopeez (about 1/4 teaspoon) or Zoplan (same amount) every day or so with a plastic cover and then let it free for the rest of the feeders - and I feed my brain a small fish one a week or so.
     
  13. mnd123

    mnd123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    1,753
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Fourways Gardens
    I have a Phos reactor (again DIY) in sump with Phosban
     
  14. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    Have you tested for silicates ?
     
  15. mnd123

    mnd123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    1,753
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Fourways Gardens
    Nope, can you give me some more info on this, as I know nothing about it?

    Is there a test kit available and what are the ramifications of the silicates in the system?

    Ta mate
     
  16. Mike

    Mike Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    12 May 2007
    Posts:
    7,859
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    the Motherland
    When was the last time you changed the phosban?

    Turn the photo period down a bit, the change from T8's to T5's may have kicked off a dormant problem, cool it down a little by halving the photo period, than over a few weeks bring it back up, i'd go for no more than 8 hours for the main lights, the actinics leave as is.
     
  17. mnd123

    mnd123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    1,753
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Fourways Gardens
    About 4-5 months ago

    OK, will do, I was a little worried about the lights to be frank....
     
  18. mnd123

    mnd123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    1,753
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Fourways Gardens
    Pictures of my pain???? That is cruel ;)

    As you can see from these 2 shots, the tank is covered (and this is after a cleanup the day before!!) Note the hammer and Goniopora half closed because of it and the poor Zoas covered

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    On the ground

    [​IMG]

    On the rocks and perspex

    [​IMG]

    Even on the power heads!

    [​IMG]

    In this pic you can see that it is turning brown and going "stringy" - am I winning?

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: 16 Jan 2009
  19. Mike

    Mike Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    12 May 2007
    Posts:
    7,859
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    the Motherland
    your substrate is very coarse, this may not be helping as it can trap detritus, relacing it wouldn't be easy but not impossible.
    Replace the phosban, as for as i'm aware it will only last a couple of months, after that it can leach P04 back into the tank.
     
  20. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    Silicates will fuel cyano and can be introduced into the system from substrates, it has even been suggested that playsand can be a cause.

    Seachem have a silicate kit
     
  21. mnd123

    mnd123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    1,753
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Fourways Gardens
    Whats the definition of coarse? Mine is 1-2mm grains of fine CC

    [​IMG]
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Cyano Psycho Forum Date
Cyano Nuisance Algae 17 Sep 2016
Cyano (Red Slime Algae) General Discussions and Advice 13 Jan 2016
Have a nasty Cyano Red Slime Algae Outbreak in your aquarium? Use Chemiclean to... JungleAquatics.NET BLOG 18 Jun 2015
Comp: Getting rid of cyano Competitions 4 Nov 2014
Not winning the battle against Cyano Nuisance Algae 22 Sep 2014
Red cyano General Discussions and Advice 2 Aug 2014
Struggling with diatoms cyano then yuppie have the solution Yuppie Pets 16 Jul 2014