Cyano, playsand, and eggrate dilemma?

Matt

Wrasse
Joined
5 Jan 2008
Posts
1,976
Reaction score
41
Location
JHB
128L Nano tank, substrate is playsand (not very thick).

I've noticed there is diatoms and a bit of cyano developing on my substrate! :cheers2:

Now i'm not 100% sure on the cause but i'm thinking it might be too little flow in the tank (only have 2 little powerheads that put out 1000L/h.

I'm buying a Nanostream 6025 tomorrow! (unless someone else could recommend a better powerhead?)

I'm also wondering if I should use eggcrate to raise my LR off of the substrate? If I do this though can I remove the LR, then put the eggcrate straight on the substrate or would I have to remove the substrate before putting the eggcrate in the tank?

I was thinking of going barebottom but not sure how my little hermits or serpent starfish would manage without substrate?
 

gaz19

Wrasse
Joined
10 Jun 2007
Posts
1,783
Reaction score
10
Location
durban,kloof
whats your nitrate and PO4 readings? this is often the culprit to cyno.
what are your power head ratings?
if you raise the rock it will increase the surface are on the live rock, thus better filtration or i should say more, as the rock will no longer be under the sand.

just my 2c
 

gaz19

Wrasse
Joined
10 Jun 2007
Posts
1,783
Reaction score
10
Location
durban,kloof
and whats your bio-load like? are you doing water changes often? if so how many liters per week/month?
 

Matt

Wrasse
Joined
5 Jan 2008
Posts
1,976
Reaction score
41
Location
JHB
i've got 2 occ clowns, 1 midas blenny and 2 purple firefish in a 130L tank so bioload isn't too bad?

My nitrate and phosphates are also good so i'm assuming its a flow issue? powerheads are 1000L/hour, would be better to improve the flow
 

gaz19

Wrasse
Joined
10 Jun 2007
Posts
1,783
Reaction score
10
Location
durban,kloof
can you give us the exact readings. and yes your bio load is low. is the cyno only growing in the low flow area?
 

Matt

Wrasse
Joined
5 Jan 2008
Posts
1,976
Reaction score
41
Location
JHB
Cyano only growing in the front of the tank (it's pretty much all low flow at the moment unfortunately (only about 2000l/h in a 130L tank...

Exact readings i'm not sure offhand, will have to test again a bit later
 

gaz19

Wrasse
Joined
10 Jun 2007
Posts
1,783
Reaction score
10
Location
durban,kloof
its most likely low flow. why not put two of the smallest seios in there and keep the two other small pumps? that would create some nice random flow
 

Matt

Wrasse
Joined
5 Jan 2008
Posts
1,976
Reaction score
41
Location
JHB
Those two small pumps are going to a mate with a 24G (perfect in that size tank), so i'll be upgrading tomorrow!

Just have to decide:
2 x SEIO M620 (although these are a bit unsightly)
or
1 x tunze 6025
or
2 x Boyu wavemakers
 

gaz19

Wrasse
Joined
10 Jun 2007
Posts
1,783
Reaction score
10
Location
durban,kloof
i just think one tunze wont be enough. it will be better to have to blowing at each other thus creating random flow. with one tunze it will blow across in one direction. imo
 

Matt

Wrasse
Joined
5 Jan 2008
Posts
1,976
Reaction score
41
Location
JHB
Tunze is 2500L/h.

Wouldn't 2 x 2500L/h be too much flow in a 130L tank?
 

gaz19

Wrasse
Joined
10 Jun 2007
Posts
1,783
Reaction score
10
Location
durban,kloof
if its two tunze no. speak to alfie about those pumps. the dont shoot a jet of water out, the almost fan the water outwards. hope you understand. drop alfie a pm
 

Alfie

Hawkfish
Joined
5 Oct 2007
Posts
1,607
Reaction score
14
Location
Cape Town
Tunze is 2500L/h.

Wouldn't 2 x 2500L/h be too much flow in a 130L tank?
You can run 2 x 6025's length wise across the DT facing each other which will create nice water movement. I would not be to much flow. I run 2 in a 80l nano.
 

Alfie

Hawkfish
Joined
5 Oct 2007
Posts
1,607
Reaction score
14
Location
Cape Town
Matt, they might throw up a bit of dust in the beginning but it will settle shortly.
 

Matt

Wrasse
Joined
5 Jan 2008
Posts
1,976
Reaction score
41
Location
JHB
Ok upgrading to 2 x 6025's... Now just to source them!
 

Similar threads


Top