Could this be the beginning of a nightmare with Aiptasia?

Discussion in 'ID Needed' started by Uysster, 11 Aug 2014.

1. Uysster

Uysster

Hi if possible, since the samples are very small, please tell me this is not aiptasia?

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Uysster

Uysster Thread Starter

Nevermind... I'm no expert, but I read a lot and I've found a bigger cousin that really looks like Aiptasia. I dont know if I should start crying or what.
    I'm a newbie reefer just over a week old, so is my tank and within less than 12 hours caulerpa, invested with Aiptasia that I got from someone has now infested my tank.

Should I scream, pannic or just let it be?

And just earlier this evening I was reading up on how to deal with these pests. It's like my sixth sense picked up something.

4. Uysster

Uysster Thread Starter

[​IMG]

5. SilverWolf

SilverWolf

Aiptasia-x them to kingdom come!

6. Chris Makings

Chris Makings

You not the only reefer that has been battling with it, there is a number of ways in combating these pests, but do it now while your tank is still cycling as I left it and now I have a big problem on my hands,

7. Uysster

Uysster Thread Starter

It's so sad... the lfs do not even have salt in stock. What's to say about funny things like aiptasia-x...

Last edited: 12 Aug 2014
  8. tekkengal

tekkengal Moderator

Rather try and sort it out now before it becomes a problem. @SilverWolf 's suggestion of aiptasia x is great. Just make sure you cover the mouth of it to prevent it from releasing spores into the water. You can also use kalk paste and feed it to the anemone.

Good luck!

Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  9. Uysster

Uysster Thread Starter

I'll have to look into diy something with hot water and injection or so and then sucking up the dead one. Or the type with lemon juice.