Corals? which would work?

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by NADEEM, 25 Jul 2012.

1. NADEEM

NADEEM

Hello everyone
    I will be getting my first marine tank this weekend, a boyu TL550, the tank is already setup, has LR, has zoas and mushrooms, 2 x clown fish, 1 x bi-colour blenny, 1 x cleaner shrimp and one little crab.

I do not wish to add antying to this tank immediately, would like to keep it as it is for at least a month or 2 after i get it, the fish that are in the tank already are perfect, i dont want anymore fish in this tank, but what i would eventually love to add is some coral.

i have ZERO knowledge of coral, have done lots of reading and still feel like i dont know anything, perhaps im reading all the wrong things.

I keep planted tanks, and understand the needs of different plants, and that some plants will survive under low light but wont thirve and will never show their true colour and such.
    This Boyu has std lighting, 2 x 24watt PL Tubes(blue and white), the skimer is std, i will be getting one 3000L/h vibration pump with tank, and have another one in one of my planted tanks which i can move to this marine tank.should i?

so my question : what coral would you guys suggest i can keep in this tank, i can not afford to upgrade lighting at the moment, so have to work with what i got,lol.
    not only the tank, what coral would be safe with the current livestock in the tank. i would like to have an idea of what coral i may be able to keep so i can do more detailed research and find out what these corals need and where they should be placed and so on. really dont want to be buying and killing things because i did not know.

Sharp
    Nadeem

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. viper357

viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

Those are corals :) You can add some more colourful zoa's, perhaps some leather corals like a kenya tree. There are some useful care sheets here that should help as well coral care sheets - ASIRA

4. DubKorps