copepods

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by wookie, 31 Oct 2014.

  1. wookie

    wookie

    Joined:
    18 Apr 2014
    Posts:
    319
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    pinetown kzn
    Guys with regards to copepods how do they start off in the tank , in other words where do they come from as i don't know if you can buy them to start a culture in my sump so was wondering how they start.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. CW

    CW

    Joined:
    2 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    2,273
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Vanderbijlpark
    From live rock

    So if you dont have any live rock in the tank (meaning you only baught base rock)
    Just get one live rock from some one and this will seed the tank

    Enjoy:thumbup:
     
  4. wookie

    wookie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    18 Apr 2014
    Posts:
    319
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    pinetown kzn
    Thanks did buy live rock from lfs, but haven't seen any for the las 10 months. Will keep watching at night then.
     
  5. CW

    CW

    Joined:
    2 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    2,273
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Vanderbijlpark
    Ja you will see them easier at night.
    Are you sure the rock was live rock?
     
  6. rhox

    rhox

    Joined:
    2 Sep 2013
    Posts:
    173
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    George
    How is your algae looking. Mine multiply quick if I leave the tank a little dirty for them. Esp on the glass. I leave a little strip near the bottom that I don't clean.
     
  7. wookie

    wookie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    18 Apr 2014
    Posts:
    319
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    pinetown kzn
    My back glass is full of algae trying to eradicate it. So i won't see these little guys in that forest really :m01:
     
  8. wookie

    wookie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    18 Apr 2014
    Posts:
    319
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    pinetown kzn
    Didn't know there was a difference between live rock and base rock to be honest. The rock according to lfs was live rock.
     
  9. CW

    CW

    Joined:
    2 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    2,273
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Vanderbijlpark
    Jip. Big diference.
    Did he take the live rock out of a running marine tank for you?
    Also if the rock has like a whitish look to it its not been live for that long.
    Live rock thats been live for a while tends to get more like a natural look. like darker colour.
    hope this makes sense.

    Google dead base rock and google live rock then you will see.

    Lets see some pics of the tank buddy.

    how many kilos of rock do you have in your tank?
    How many kilos is live and how many base rock?
     
  10. wookie

    wookie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    18 Apr 2014
    Posts:
    319
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    pinetown kzn
    Well the rock came out of a holding tank where he keeps all his rock there's about 4kg of rock in my tank.

    20141101_140940.jpg

    20140713_130245.jpg
     
  11. CW

    CW

    Joined:
    2 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    2,273
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Vanderbijlpark
    Is the first pic of how the tank looks now?

    Verry nice, whats the size of the tank again?
    So all the rock is verry light then if its only 4kg. I always like that cos then you know theres loads of places for pods to hide.
     
  12. wookie

    wookie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    18 Apr 2014
    Posts:
    319
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    pinetown kzn
    Thanks cw. Hi cw yes the firs pic is what the tank looks like now. It's a 4ft tank with a 3 ft sump. I want to add a bit more rock as corals are a bit cramped.
     
    Last edited: 2 Nov 2014
  13. CW

    CW

    Joined:
    2 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    2,273
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Vanderbijlpark
    That looks realy nice man. how long has your setup been running?
    What filtration are you useing?
    NP reactor? Cubes? or what?

    Do you have a nennie in there? What kind? Bubble tip?

    Keep it up man.
    Ill also say get more rock. But look careful, see if you can find a big flat rock.

    This way if you use a big flat rock you put 3smaller rocks under the big flat rock then it creates a nice base to start a schaping on and also some hiding and tunnels for the fish to swim.

    Tangs love swiming into tunnels and underneath schaping. And it looks cool
     
  14. wookie

    wookie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    18 Apr 2014
    Posts:
    319
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    pinetown kzn
    Hi cw been running 10 months now have a bubble magnus 5 skimmer, reef octopus reactor with phosban and am wanting to modify my sump to add a dsb next month. Yea that a bubble tip nennie bud he has trippled in size.
     
  15. CW

    CW

    Joined:
    2 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    2,273
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Vanderbijlpark
    I also have the curve 5. Nice skimmer.
    why do you want to add a dsb? dsb only works if you let it have a big footprint. And it takes time to get established well.

    Why not NP pellets, Bio cubes, seachem matrix or something like seachem denitrate?
    Faster working, more effective and seachem matrix and denitrate you never replace.

    Nice, whats its colour, cant see so lekker.
     
  16. wookie

    wookie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    18 Apr 2014
    Posts:
    319
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    pinetown kzn
    Was told that a dsb is good to have don't know much about the stuff you mentioned will investigate bud.
    Here's an older photo he's light orange

    20140916_150433.jpg
     
  17. wookie

    wookie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    18 Apr 2014
    Posts:
    319
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    pinetown kzn
    Was told that a dsb is good to have don't know much about the stuff you mentioned will investigate bud.
    Here's an older photo he's light orange
     
  18. CW

    CW

    Joined:
    2 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    2,273
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Vanderbijlpark
    Cool man, i had a green bta. Verry nice nennie
    Loads off ppl are using bio cubes. Im also using it now.
    And i dont have any complaints with cubes.

    I also used np pellets on my big tank, also no complaints.
    Only little problem i had was when the pellets cloged up a bit. But that was once every 3month about.
    And i must say, i used a modified media reactor for a np reactor.
    But my brother has th JNS omega one np reactor. Verry nice man. And they dont clog up yet.

    Many ppl say theres a price diffrence on runnig costs between cubes and np pellets.
    I say no. It can work both ways.

    Cubes:
    + side: If theres not a lot of no3 and po4 it will last longer
    + side: it works
    - side: if you have loads of no3 and po4 it wont last as long
    - side: if you give more air it wont last as long.

    Np pellets:
    + side: if you have a propper ractor it last longer
    + side: it works
    - side: if you dont use a proper reactor they may clog up after about 2 or 3months
    - side: if you dont use a proper reactor they wont last as long cos they tumble quikly
    - side: if you add to mutch pellets per topup your tangs can get a bactearil infection.
    (my tangs got it a few times, aspecialy my yellow tank) but he survived every time


    PS: pleas im not saying any badd thins about np or cubes. Remember every reafer has his/her owne opinion about filtration.

    Some ppl even dont use any skimmers and only a algea scrubber. Also works great.

    My opinion is try one and if it works for you stick to it.
    I have also used dsb and it worked. It takes a while to kicki n properly.
    Ive also used seachem matrix with a dsb, that worked great aswell.

    Enjoy bud
     
  19. wookie

    wookie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    18 Apr 2014
    Posts:
    319
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    pinetown kzn
    Wow that's a lot of info to absorb cw. Thanks for that mate will look into it. Friggen lost my cleaner wrasse last night for some reason. Really pees me off when i lose a fish.
     
  20. TaahirS

    TaahirS MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    10 Jul 2014
    Posts:
    2,585
    Likes Received:
    284
    Location:
    Cape Town (southern suburbs)
    Cleaner wrasses don't do well in tanks. They usually only last 6 months in a tank. Was it eating frozen or just parasites from your fish?
     
  21. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,155
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Centurion
    Yes and No

    They can survive, if tank is big enough and you have more than enough hosts for it to feed from.
    Wookie tank is too small. Only so many other fish around. Take note that they will dart around from fish to fish looking for that one loose scale, or whatever sits on that fish. He actually bite that out of the fish. If he service the same host too many times a day the wrasse will eventually become a pest to that fish. Seen it in my own tank, where the host turns around and chase the cleaner wrasse away. Had enough of him and tries to attack the cleaner. Luckily the cleaner is way to fast for them.

    Then again, my cleaner wrasse got 8 biggish fish to service, plus a couple other smaller fish. And he eats nori and flakes.

    Got him for more than 3 years. So yes, they can survive.
     
    Last edited: 4 Nov 2014
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - copepods Forum Date
copepods breeding advice plz General Discussions and Advice 9 Nov 2016
Breeding Copepods Advanced Topics 18 Apr 2016
Copepods / chaeto Beginner Discussions 27 May 2015
[wtd] Copepods Wanted 20 Apr 2015
Amphipods or Copepods in JHB or Cape Town General Discussions and Advice 29 Mar 2015
Copepods General Discussions and Advice 21 Mar 2015
[wtd] Copepods and Amphipods Wanted 3 Feb 2015