Converting tropical to marine

Discussion in 'New Members' started by Jimmy Z, 28 Mar 2013.

1. Jimmy Z

Jimmy Z

Hi There, I am brand new to the forum. I have been keeping tropical fish for 3 years now and have upgraded many, many times to bigger and bigger tanks - eventually having 5 at one stage. I have got my disease down to 2 x 250 L tanks for the last year, but the bug is biting again and I have always wanted to graduate to marine after I could prove to myself that I could handle a decent tropical setup. I plan on leaving my Cichlid tank as is, but I would like to convert one of my 250 L curved glass Sunsun tropical tanks to marine. I am currently running a Tetra-tec 1200EX external canister filter (1200L/hr) with an Aqua one Maxi 102F internal filter (450L/hr) and a Boyu WM-1 wavemaker . My lighting consists of 2 x T5 39W 20 000K lights and 1 x T5 39W U/V. I am using a Resun 8000 quad outlet air pump and a 250W heater with 2 spares for backup for winter failures. My substrate is Koi filter silica sand 0.6 - 1.5mm. I would like to change over to marine and keep live rock with 1 or 2 anenomes, 2 x clown fish, 2 x yellow tangs, 2 x powder blue surgeons, 2-3 cleaner shrimp and maybe 1 x mandarin or goby. If I change my filter media and hoses will my filtration be adequate? I don't like my current lighting (not bright enough) and would definitely switch to LED -what would you recommend? Will my substrate work or do I need to change it? How would I connect a protein skimmer to the filtration (canister filter) and what else do I need/would you recommend? Have I forgotten or not thought of anything?
    Thanks in advance.

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. 459b

459b Moderator MASA Contributor

Welcome to MASA!
    What are the dimensions of the tank?