concrete

Discussion in 'Aquascaping' started by raflo, 19 Aug 2012.

  1. raflo

    raflo

    Joined:
    15 Sep 2011
    Posts:
    151
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Krugersdorp
    Hi

    just want to know if safe to use these in a reef tank?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. belindamotion

    belindamotion Google Master

    Joined:
    24 Jan 2011
    Posts:
    4,803
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    Pinetown,South Africa(KZN)
    I would say you can if I go thru this Thread, but I'm sure someone will come along and advise properly...
    [​IMG]
    http://www.marineaquariumsa.com/showthread.php?t=13155&page=3

    Have a look here...I found this...? Think it's an Old Article, so maybe outdated..?
    http://www.aquarticles.com/articles/management/Lawler_Aquascaping.html

    Either way I'm sure you will still have to "cure" it as you would any DIY Rock build...
    http://www.marineaquariumsa.com/showthread.php?p=348958#348958
     
  4. raflo

    raflo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    15 Sep 2011
    Posts:
    151
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Krugersdorp
    thanks for the reply @belindamotion that looks about the same as i am planning to use.you know its a bit pricey to buy live rock for a proper scape in a large 2.5m display so weighing options;)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  5. chops

    chops

    Joined:
    1 Sep 2009
    Posts:
    394
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    port elizabeth ec
    Hi there i use them in my 1000l sump been in there for 3years and fine
     
  6. raflo

    raflo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    15 Sep 2011
    Posts:
    151
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Krugersdorp
    how did u make it safe? soak in ro for a while?
     
  7. chops

    chops

    Joined:
    1 Sep 2009
    Posts:
    394
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    port elizabeth ec
    No just put it in and did not have any ill efects my tank is 550l and been going 4years in total
     
  8. raflo

    raflo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    15 Sep 2011
    Posts:
    151
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Krugersdorp
    sounds great i have a few of these laying around,maybe i can use it after my big move:thumbup:
     
  9. mupwi

    mupwi

    Joined:
    18 Aug 2010
    Posts:
    466
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Durban South Africa
    In a big tank you might be able to get away with it but i would soke them for a week or so just in case i would sugest an anitial soke in ro or even tap water if you have relatively cleen water where you live thathen a soke in your opd waterchange water to seed then a bit before introducing them to the tank if the tank is still cycling will probably be fine to just add them
     
  10. WAZ_M

    WAZ_M

    Joined:
    2 Dec 2012
    Posts:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vereeniging
    When i had my sytem in the UK i used a fair bit of man-made rock. my buddy and i sue to make it out of a mix of arragonite, crushed coral, brocken sea shell anfd white concrete. Once dry place in a drum of water for a a few weeks with a pump for circulation. one it colour up you cant tell the difrence.
     
  11. Annoying

    Annoying

    Joined:
    14 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    2,107
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth
    The main problem with concrete is that it lowers the Ph of the water for the first period of time (own experience). After a few weeks most of the stuff leaches out and only a small amount will actually still effect the water. The best, like previously said is to soak the concrete for a few weeks prior to the cycle of your tank in RO water. I would advice to soak the concrete for at least 2 weeks with regular water changes and then add them and to begin the tank cycle as this adds even more time for the Ph to stabilize.
     
  12. chas84

    chas84

    Joined:
    2 Sep 2010
    Posts:
    502
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Centurion
    Does concrete not raise the ph? Remember when I made frag plugs the ph would be sky high in the soak bucket for a few weeks.
     
  13. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,142
    Likes Received:
    1,228
    Location:
    Centurion
    it does raise the PH, need to soak it in RO for a couple of weeks.
    Maybe even another week or 2 in old salt water from a water change.
     
  14. seank

    seank

    Joined:
    24 May 2007
    Posts:
    11,984
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    North of Durban and South of Mozambique
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  15. Wes

    Wes

    Joined:
    24 Jan 2012
    Posts:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Randburg
    it's not neccessary to do the complete soak in RO, from making my own live rock, you will just be wasting RO, have it sit in tap water for the major duration of "leach" process, then when figures and tests stop showing any changes, have the blocks sit in RO for the final stretch.

    or if you stay close to the coast, go drop a few blocks off in a rock pool at low tide, pick them up in a couple weeks.
     
  16. seank

    seank

    Joined:
    24 May 2007
    Posts:
    11,984
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    North of Durban and South of Mozambique
    Tried it, either got washed away/broken into pieces or got stolen by wannabe reefers...lol
     
  17. Philip.Cloete

    Philip.Cloete

    Joined:
    21 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Secunda Mpumalanga
    O.k I see people using the brick blocks but will the normal cement bricks like the maxi brick be safe to use in aqarium.
    what process does these go through when they are manufactured, also is there no metals or such in them wich may leach out in time that can harm corals or fish.

    from reading I see silicone cement is safe to use but how do I know what is silicone cement.

    I have a large tank and would like to gain some height in the tank and also have an open space at the bottom so flow can remove debris, stacking a bunch of LR on each other works but it traps debris and the shapes of the rock makes it a little harder to work with
     
  18. seank

    seank

    Joined:
    24 May 2007
    Posts:
    11,984
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    North of Durban and South of Mozambique
    Best is to still soak it....
     
  19. Philip.Cloete

    Philip.Cloete

    Joined:
    21 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Secunda Mpumalanga
    Yes will soak in normal water than a last soak in ro then to the tank just want to be 100 persent sure its safe
     
  20. seank

    seank

    Joined:
    24 May 2007
    Posts:
    11,984
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    North of Durban and South of Mozambique
    You are 100% on track :thumbup:
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - concrete Forum Date
Concrete tank building - Jhb The Sump 28 Apr 2012
My ultimate Concrete reef tank. Reef Hunters 30 Jan 2012
Concrete tank help General Discussions and Advice 21 Mar 2011
Concrete Anything DIY Related 27 Jan 2010
Concrete blocks dropped on live coral Diving, Collecting and Environmental Discussions 24 Dec 2009
My 3600L Concrete Tank "Idea" Supersized Tanks 2 Jul 2009
Concrete mixes Anything DIY Related 24 Feb 2009