Complete beginner

Discussion in 'New Members' started by philiplouw, 23 Sep 2009.

1. philiplouw

philiplouw

Hi all,
    I am a complete newby to this great hobbie and I am cuurently just researching in order to know exactly what to do when I do start actually putting water in a tank!

I am a lover of the sea and of anything living in it...I spend any time I can in Mosam and much of that time either in, under or on the water!

The main reason why I am currently just researching is because I know that I will be moving houses next year and very possibly at the end of next year again as I am just starting a new job and getting settled in Johannesburg. (some advice on moving tanks will obviously be needed....if it is even possible!)

I need some help on stores, clubs, people who would be willing and able to assist me with gathering info and even sourcing equipment and fish etc. in and around Johannesburg. So any advice there will be appreciated.

I'm glad I found this site as it seems that this is where I will get some valuable info.

Happy days!!

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Ghaydeen

Ghaydeen

Hi and Welcome.

Where in JHb are you moving to..

4. Sentari

Sentari

Hi Phillip!

Welcome to MASA.

Read around on the thread and get a feel of what the whole marine hobby is about. Ask as many questions as you can. Even if you think they stupid questions. They not!!!

Where abouts are you moving to in Joburg? If you have a chance come join us at our monthly meeting we are having. They very informative and the people can give you great ideas also. Nice to see how things run and the different methods people use.

Just remember one thing this hobby also takes alot of patience and commitment... also alot of money. So budget for everything and look around.

I went the way of getting a 2nd hand tank. Its a good idea BUT if you dont know what you getting yourself into you'll never know what to look for in a setup. Getting someone to build it for you is a good idea.