clowns hosting not in my anemone

Sheldon12

Hermit Crab
Joined
19 Nov 2015
Posts
157
Reaction score
12
Location
midrand, JHB
Hi All

Need help, i have three clowns in my tank and non of them want to host in my neni.

Clown Type: Ocellaris
Neni, Orange Bubble tip anemone

The clowns are abit small about 5cm and the neni is quite big . could that be the reason? why i ask is become i had a saddle back and it was like 9-10cm and she was giving it a go in the neni.

Help please!

IMG-20160314-WA0010.jpgIMG-20160314-WA0013.jpgWP_20160317_12_21_26_Pro.jpg

IMG-20160314-WA0010.jpg


IMG-20160314-WA0013.jpg


WP_20160317_12_21_26_Pro.jpg
 

Dexter

Wrasse
Joined
24 Feb 2014
Posts
1,978
Reaction score
317
Location
Randburg
Clowns will host is whatever they feel like. it is not guaranteed they will host in a anenome. They will host in anything from mushrooms to algae. Ive seen some post were people play them videos. I think @madmatt posted here a while ago were he basically thought his clowns were to host with a IPad and a youtube video.
 

Sheldon12

Hermit Crab
Joined
19 Nov 2015
Posts
157
Reaction score
12
Location
midrand, JHB
at the moment they not hosting in anything, i have a few coral that could host in but nothing, that youtube vid sounds awesome. i even tried to use a PVC pipe to direct them to the neni with no luck
 
Last edited:

viper357

Admin
Joined
4 May 2007
Posts
29,844
Reaction score
1,384
Some people may frown on it but I was impatient and used my net to try and "catch" the clowns and sort of pushed them in the direction of the anemone, both of them eventually dived into the anemone and I immediately pulled the net out, they never left the anemone after that. ;)
 

hotdog83

Clone Fish
Moderator
Joined
28 May 2008
Posts
5,080
Reaction score
1,596
Location
Cresta, JHB
I think especially ocellaris clowns are also a bit inbred a lot of the time, I have my doubts that some of them have the wild instinct to host. I've had some 'host' a top corner of my tank close to where I feed.

Also, ocellaris clowns and rbta's are not a natural clown/anemone pairing in wild, I think they mostly host in magnifica nennies in wild. From what I remember, tomato clowns are a natural pair with rbta's. But I've had ocellaris host in rbta's before, but it did take a long time, like 6 months+, so maybe just wait and see?
 

DOHCTOR

Bristleworm
Joined
16 Apr 2010
Posts
96
Reaction score
8
Location
BK,Cape Town
I had 2 clowns which were some designer weird black and orange clowns. RBTA was on the same place it is now but it took that pair months to enter.Had a bit of a disaster they died along with 2 tangs. I bought me 2 clowns and it took it like 2 mins to find it and go in there. Been in here like 6months +
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Travis1

(wilsontravy)
Joined
15 Apr 2009
Posts
803
Reaction score
28
Location
Durban
Dont stress bud, My clowns are hosting in the torch coral.
 

madmatt

Hawkfish
Joined
4 Mar 2014
Posts
1,595
Reaction score
276
Location
JHB South
Hi.
What I did was strap my 7" tablet to the outside of my tank directly opposite the nennie.
Try find a video with the same type of clowns hosting in the nennie you got.
Put this on loop.
And the theory is monkey see monkey do.
I've had success on 3 different occasions.
Would love someone else to try it out and see if it works for them.

http://www.marineaquariumsa.com/threads/training-clowns.60819/
 
Last edited:

ShLiMi333

Damsel
Joined
26 Feb 2016
Posts
379
Reaction score
55
Location
Welkom
Ive seen a vid on youtue where a guy took a tablet and strapped it to his tank. almost 2 days past and his clowns then hosted to his bta. so, yes, t works i guess
 

Sheldon12

Hermit Crab
Joined
19 Nov 2015
Posts
157
Reaction score
12
Location
midrand, JHB
guys, just an update, i strapped a tablet to the side of the tank this morning, hoping to see the clowns hosting later today or tomorrow morning, update on progress coming soon
 

madmatt

Hawkfish
Joined
4 Mar 2014
Posts
1,595
Reaction score
276
Location
JHB South
Might not happen straight away.still takes time.
What video have you used.how have you set it up
 

Sheldon12

Hermit Crab
Joined
19 Nov 2015
Posts
157
Reaction score
12
Location
midrand, JHB
@madmatt i use a vid with the same clowns in the same nennie, fingers crossed, i know it would be that fast for them to go in(fingers crossed tho)
 

r0ckf1re

Regal Tang
Joined
23 Feb 2015
Posts
3,079
Reaction score
742
Location
Sandton
Sheldon, if your clowns are captive bred, may also be a reason for them not hosting. Good luck.

4
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Similar threads


Top