Clowns 50lt nano

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by clown, 24 Dec 2010.

  1. clown

    clown

    Joined:
    23 Apr 2009
    Posts:
    463
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    CAPE GATE - Cape Town
    GUYS.

    First I want to wish al MASA Friends a happy X-mas.

    -****---------------------*******-------------------*****

    I started a week ago with a new 50 lt Boyu TL-450 Nano tank.
    It is cycling for a week now.

    I got inside 3 pcs of Kenya LVR , 1 med pcs Tonga branch & 1 pcs Bali LVR.
    As DSB I used Agronite "Pearl".

    1st Chamber - floss sponge and pump of the skimmer & UV light.
    2nd Chamber - The Skimmer
    3rd Chamber - some DSB Agronite in a stocking and Kenya chunk pcs on top of the stocking with dsb.
    4th chamber - I have Return pump, heater & Purigine. (Will add chem-pure later).


    I did not test water as yet ,will do and post later.

    I put the light on for 1 hour a day.

    Any advise and comments welcome if it is constructive.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Side of tank:
    [​IMG]

    Side of Tank:
    [​IMG]
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. ajdefreitas

    ajdefreitas

    Joined:
    23 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Africa, WC, Strand
    good luck on your tank clown.... :thumbup:

    Can't wait to start mine in the next week or so!!

    Have a happy xmas!!

    Ant
     
  4. clown

    clown Thread Starter

    Joined:
    23 Apr 2009
    Posts:
    463
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    CAPE GATE - Cape Town
    You must put some pics up once you're tank is going.

    what size tank?
     
  5. Q89

    Q89

    Joined:
    25 Jul 2010
    Posts:
    391
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Swakopmund
    Looking good.

    Just one question, why is the hydrometer showing your salinity so high?:p
     
  6. clown

    clown Thread Starter

    Joined:
    23 Apr 2009
    Posts:
    463
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    CAPE GATE - Cape Town
    I dont like that thing because I think it does not work.

    When I put RO water in then it also lift as high.
    I am waiting on my Refractor meter to come in.
     
  7. Q89

    Q89

    Joined:
    25 Jul 2010
    Posts:
    391
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Swakopmund
    I also have one, you should just tap it a few times, micro bubbles get in between the needle and the body making the needle go up.
     
  8. clown

    clown Thread Starter

    Joined:
    23 Apr 2009
    Posts:
    463
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    CAPE GATE - Cape Town
    I saw this on the bali rock.

    What coral is this?

    I think we will get a better Idea when it open one day.

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]
     
  9. LifeAquatic

    LifeAquatic

    Joined:
    21 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    322
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    USA
    I really like the layout of your LR. Interesting composition!:thumbup:
     
  10. clown

    clown Thread Starter

    Joined:
    23 Apr 2009
    Posts:
    463
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    CAPE GATE - Cape Town
    I also like the lay out of the rocks. I like a diversity of LVR in the tank.



    When I cycle a tank can you put the lights on for a hour or two?
    Read on a other web-side they say no.
     
    Last edited: 28 Dec 2010
  11. Keanan

    Keanan 2time

    Joined:
    16 Mar 2010
    Posts:
    2,490
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Cape Town
    You can but its not necessary because it would just cause algae blooms but a hour or two wont do any harm.
     
  12. clown

    clown Thread Starter

    Joined:
    23 Apr 2009
    Posts:
    463
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    CAPE GATE - Cape Town
    Thanx.

    I just wanted to confirm.

    I need to ht my Salinity down as it is 1.030.
     
  13. clown

    clown Thread Starter

    Joined:
    23 Apr 2009
    Posts:
    463
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    CAPE GATE - Cape Town
    Hi Guys,

    I did a water test on Saturday.
    The tank is running for 5 weeks.

    I am busy buffing my PH higer to get it at 8.3.
    I'm Running the tank with out any lights until I add a fish.


    SG: 1.026
    PH: 7.30
    Nitrates: 10 mg3
    Ammoniac - Elite pet shop did not have a Ammoniac tester (Will test the week-end)
    Alkalinity (DKH) - Elite pet shop did not have a DKH tester (Will test the week-end)


    :)
     
  14. 459b

    459b Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    9,750
    Likes Received:
    789
    Location:
    Cape Town
    tanks looking good.

    let me know when you ready for the brown star polyps.
     
  15. Tobes

    Tobes Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    30 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    9,482
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    A Beautiful place!
    Something is wrong here, I think whatever you're using to test pH is inaccurate. Usually low pH is about 7.8, but normally around 8-8.3
    I would double check with a digital pH meter that is calibrated before attemting to raise it. The pH in my tank was always between 8 and 8.3 and I just did 10% water changes every week. Your tank is still new, that's why it is strange to see a pH of 7.3?
     
  16. Tremayn

    Tremayn

    Joined:
    21 Mar 2010
    Posts:
    5,226
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Lenasia
    Nice scapping :)
     
  17. clown

    clown Thread Starter

    Joined:
    23 Apr 2009
    Posts:
    463
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    CAPE GATE - Cape Town
    Elite petshop used a digital pH meter - dont know if it was calibrated or not.
    I do every week a 10 % water changed. I will do another test on Saturday.
     
  18. clown

    clown Thread Starter

    Joined:
    23 Apr 2009
    Posts:
    463
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    CAPE GATE - Cape Town
    Thank a lot.

    Thanx. Maybe we can try and add some next week?

    Send me pic of it once you can.
     
  19. Tobes

    Tobes Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    30 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    9,482
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    A Beautiful place!
    What salt are you using? It should say on the bucket/box what the pH of the salt mix will be as most reputable brands/good quality salts give the water parameters if freshly mixed.
     
  20. clown

    clown Thread Starter

    Joined:
    23 Apr 2009
    Posts:
    463
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    CAPE GATE - Cape Town
    I will look at it and advice tomorrow.

    I think I have the seakem salt.
     
  21. Dane

    Dane

    Joined:
    24 Jan 2010
    Posts:
    1,717
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Fregate Island, Seychelles
    Looking great martin. Love the scape and a great little tank! Good luck straightening out your parameters, and will get my xenia to grow nicely in the interim ;-)

    On a side note with your filtration. If you have purigen then I wouldnt add chemipure - they both do much the same thing (although I've heard chemipure is better than purigen, but not reusable). Rather get yourself phosban or something?
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Clowns 50lt nano Forum Date
[wtd] Pair of Pecula clowns and Regal tang Wanted 13 Jul 2016
Breeding Clowns Advanced Topics 12 Jul 2016
BTA hosting clowns and crabs? Anemone's 11 Jun 2016
[wtd] Black and white clowns Wanted 1 May 2016
clowns hosting not in my anemone Anemone's 11 Apr 2016
Fattening up my clowns Marine Fish Discussions 2 Apr 2016
[wtd] Pair of Clowns needed Wanted 22 Feb 2016