clownfish died

Discussion in 'Marine Fish Discussions' started by Mr_G, 30 Sep 2010.

1. Mr_G

Mr_G

went home yesterday and found my clown fish dead, Im new to the hobby, loving it, but seems my clownfish dont like to live... I bought three in the begining, dont kill me now, one died cause he didnt want to eat, so the other 2 got cosy and was always together, swimming together, etc, and then my water got high nitrite, like 5mg/L, and my small clownfish died, so I assume that was Nitrite, so I was away the weekend, my mom looked after my fish, got home, and my clown didnt want to eat, already suspected something wrong, monday came, still nothing, went to buy tropic marine test kit, tesed No2 and it was 0,1mg/L (been treating my water), saw the clownsfish eyes were not normal, it was mostly white with small black pupil, yesterday got home, and dead, so wondering why he died, my other fish(still not sure what it is) is 100% and eating and swimming everywhere... My two molly's (who is helping to cycle the last 2-3 weeks since my No2 spiked) is also sharp, my turbo snails doing what they do best, havent tested all parameters yet, but water seems to be perfect, so why oh why did the clownfish died? Im very very new to the hobby, so please dont bite my head off... Tomorrow Im doing a 30% waterchange again... Oh and my zoa(finally got the name of my coral) was not feeling well when the No2 was high, but she is coming along nicelly again so proud of her... Thanx guys...

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Broder

Broder Mudshark

Hard to say why the fish died. They often come from the supplier with inherent problems, so don't beat yourself up too much. The best that you can do now, is to test your water on a weekly basis until the tank reaches some kind of stability before you add any new fish. When you do, add one at a time so as not to strain the biological filtration too much and to allow it to catch up.