closed loop systems

Discussion in 'Fish Only Tanks, Predator Tanks' started by shane, 6 Mar 2009.

  1. shane

    shane

    Joined:
    1 Jun 2007
    Posts:
    668
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    durban
    Hi Guys,
    I have been thinking about adding a closed loop to my tank for some time now, but I am wandering how to go about setting it up.Firstly I have a Resun PG 18 000 pump ( 18 000 L/hour) and a Oceans Motions 4 way wave maker. My concern is about weather to drill the back glass or go over the 100 mm bracing at the top of the tank.I was also thinking of adding 2 more outlets from the same pump back into the tank and in so doing I will have 6 outlets. If I was to drill the tank then would it be advisible to remove the abs sheeting from the back glass and paint the tank instead?
    Cheers
    Shane
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    I am personally looking at setup my Polario externally and the easiest way is over the top, rather than drilling. Also I can modify flow outlets if required, where drilling is pretty permanent.
     
  4. FransSny

    FransSny

    Joined:
    16 Oct 2008
    Posts:
    5,697
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Hermanus
    warr what polario..the dual outlet...i have something similar in mind but not sure how....mind if i tag along ???
     
  5. shane

    shane Thread Starter

    Joined:
    1 Jun 2007
    Posts:
    668
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    durban
    Hi,
    I am looking at something more permanent but I am seriously concern about drilling the back glass, dont would it to crack or leak later on.
    cheers
     
  6. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    Really easy, correct size PVC piping either side, over the top of the tank and down the corners with elbows etc, and you done.
     
  7. shane

    shane Thread Starter

    Joined:
    1 Jun 2007
    Posts:
    668
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    durban
    Hi,
    I am also looking for some diagrams or sketches or pictures please. Please no photo bucket for pictures as I can not see these pictures.Tank is 2 meters long by 800 mm high.
    Cheers
    shane
     
  8. FransSny

    FransSny

    Joined:
    16 Oct 2008
    Posts:
    5,697
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Hermanus
    Thanx warr...will start planning (there goes my dining room floor probably:biggrin:)
     
  9. Christo

    Christo

    Joined:
    4 Jun 2008
    Posts:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    Vaalpark, Vaaltriangle
    Nice Tank Size you have there shane!

    Looking forward to see some pics!!
     
  10. shane

    shane Thread Starter

    Joined:
    1 Jun 2007
    Posts:
    668
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    durban
    Thanks christo,
    I will try get some pictures.Any ideas please dont be shy.
    cheers
    shane
     
  11. Christo

    Christo

    Joined:
    4 Jun 2008
    Posts:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    Vaalpark, Vaaltriangle
    I'll go the same route as Warr!!
    Go over the bracing!!!
     
  12. seank

    seank

    Joined:
    24 May 2007
    Posts:
    11,984
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    North of Durban and South of Mozambique
    Well, how about this one???-
     
  13. seank

    seank

    Joined:
    24 May 2007
    Posts:
    11,984
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    North of Durban and South of Mozambique
    Darn, sorry. I drew the pic on the screen in the text box and after I posted I see the pic is still on the PC Monitor (will use Handy Andy to remove it), sorry cannot help you then, dunno how else I am going to get a pic to you if I cannot upload
     
  14. FransSny

    FransSny

    Joined:
    16 Oct 2008
    Posts:
    5,697
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Hermanus
    sean us tip ex
     
  15. Andreas

    Andreas

    Joined:
    14 Feb 2008
    Posts:
    4,251
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Centurion
    Why cant you upload Sean??
     
  16. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    Cause he drew it on his screen :whistling:
     
  17. shane

    shane Thread Starter

    Joined:
    1 Jun 2007
    Posts:
    668
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    durban
    Thanks guys,
    I am not able to see any pictures that are uploaded on photo bucket.
    I have decided to go over the bracing as I am weary of drilling my tank.
    Is using a 18 oo l/hour pump through 4 outlets too much or the more the better?
    I am planning on 6 outlets 4 from the oceans motions and 2 from the discharge pipe straight into the tank. All will have ball valves to control the flow.
    Cheers
    shane
     
  18. seank

    seank

    Joined:
    24 May 2007
    Posts:
    11,984
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    North of Durban and South of Mozambique
    Was just joking around, did not really upload pics Shane, but I understand what you say

    What diameter pipe you using, and yes, you can go with a stronger pump as you have a lot of outlets. Only thing is, your last outlets will have weaker flow, unless you extend the pipe and add another pump on the other side, so basically the 02 pumps will blow "against" each other thru the same pipe
    ;)
     
  19. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Awesome advice Sean! I too have a sort of a CLS in my tank, that supplies water flow BEHIND my live rock, as to ensure no hidden detritus....And I have 2 pumps pumping into a 25mm clear flexi-pipe, with multiple outlets....(I used "t"-s as outlets...)
     
  20. shane

    shane Thread Starter

    Joined:
    1 Jun 2007
    Posts:
    668
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    durban
    Hi,
    I was planning on using 32 mm piping from the Oceans motions into the tank and possiblly 20 mm piping for the other outlets. I was thinking about extending these 2 outlets deeper into the tank and ending off with a t piece with 2 45' bends on either side of it.
    cheers
    shane
     
  21. Phyrannus

    Phyrannus

    Joined:
    23 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Under the Sea
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - closed loop systems Forum Date
Closed loop systems Pumps and Waterflow 19 Aug 2010
Pros and Cons of CLS (Closed Loop Systems) Pumps and Waterflow 30 Jul 2010
Closed Loop Anything DIY Related Sunday at 11:06
[wtd] large closed loop pump Wanted 14 Jul 2016
[wtd] Large closed loop pump Wanted 17 May 2016
Can Jecod pumps placed externally? (Closed loop) Pumps and Waterflow 14 Jun 2015
Pumps for closed loop system ► Sponsor Request Forum 18 Sep 2014