Cleanup water

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by KevinR, 22 Jun 2009.

  1. KevinR

    KevinR

    Joined:
    12 Nov 2008
    Posts:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Centurion
    This might be a stupid question but there are quite a lot of particals in the watercolumn of my tank. What is the best way to remove them and get a better clarity in my water? I have a skimmer and some filter floss in my overflow to try and catch most stuff but there always seems to be more in the water.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. keyaam

    keyaam

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Try and direct a pump towards the overflow
     
  4. KevinR

    KevinR Thread Starter

    Joined:
    12 Nov 2008
    Posts:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Centurion
    Ok cool thanks I will do
     
  5. coral diver

    coral diver

    Joined:
    15 May 2009
    Posts:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California USA
    Keep the surface moving and the O/F will do the rest, Is it just on the surface?
     
  6. KevinR

    KevinR Thread Starter

    Joined:
    12 Nov 2008
    Posts:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Centurion
    No it is more in the water coloumn. Not really on the surface
     
  7. coral diver

    coral diver

    Joined:
    15 May 2009
    Posts:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California USA
    Not to be offending but could it be Micro bubble.

    Have you try carbon filtration?
     
  8. KevinR

    KevinR Thread Starter

    Joined:
    12 Nov 2008
    Posts:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Centurion
    It could be but it looks more like tiny pieces of flake or something like that. No I have not tried carbon yet but that is certainly the next thing I am going to try. Thanks
     
  9. Neil H

    Neil H Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    11 May 2008
    Posts:
    2,795
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    JHB
    what is the turnover through the sump..... maybe too quick ???
     
  10. KevinR

    KevinR Thread Starter

    Joined:
    12 Nov 2008
    Posts:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Centurion
    I have a 1200lph return pump. And a durso standpipe for the overflow. I thought the flow was a bit slow through the sump. I do have a 12000lph tunze and a 6000lph sun sun in the display of 1.2x45x45
     
  11. Neil H

    Neil H Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    11 May 2008
    Posts:
    2,795
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    JHB
    do you run chaeto and a dsb with baffles???
     
  12. Manic

    Manic Moderator

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    3,313
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Johannesburg, Edenvale
    I think the flow through the sump is a bit slow. From the size of your tank I think it is around 240L. I read somewhere that the flow through the sump should be around 10x the tank volume. So that is about 2400L. How much hight difference is there between the sump and the display tank, because a 1200Lph return pump, pumping water 1m high will only pump like 300 or 400Lph. Could be wrong though but I would get a bigger return pump. I have a 130L tank with a 1200Lph return pump and it only pumps water like 30cm's higher than the actual pump.
     
  13. Neil H

    Neil H Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    11 May 2008
    Posts:
    2,795
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    JHB
    I personally aim for around 7x through my sump

    try to figure out how much turn over is going through the sump....

    my theory on this is simple.... keep it in the sump as long as possible without stagnating ....... in my system the water has to get through the skimmer then through the chaeto and over the DSB then through an ATS then through a carbon filter then through a phos reactor.......... with my relatively slow movement through the sump i do not get micro bubbles .... nor do i have much suspended particles.......

    give the sump time to work..... no need to pump huge volumes through it !!! .... Oh and then breaking the surface with decent flow in the DT will also create better skimming and hence better water clarity !
     
  14. KevinR

    KevinR Thread Starter

    Joined:
    12 Nov 2008
    Posts:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Centurion
    Thanks for the advice. I do have baffels in my sum but I am not running cheato at the moment. I will try to get some from the lfs this weekend.

    My return pump is about a meter below the return so I guess I need to get a bigger return pump. I will add the cheato and I am also going to get some carbon. Then I will have the skimmer and the phos reactor in the first chamber and the cheato and dsb in the second and the carbon and return in the third chamber. Hopefully that will sort it out.
     
  15. Neil H

    Neil H Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    11 May 2008
    Posts:
    2,795
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    JHB
    post a pic of the system.......

    chaeto should never be sold..... its basically a weed, if you can get yourself to northriding sometime in the evening this week you can have some mahala !
     
  16. Tobes

    Tobes Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    30 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    9,482
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    A Beautiful place!
    I aim for 4 or 5 times turnover through my sump. The slower, the more waist removed by skimmer and the better the nitrates removed by DSB ;)
     
  17. Manic

    Manic Moderator

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    3,313
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Johannesburg, Edenvale
    The thing is a 1200Lph pump will pump 1200Lph if it is pumping on a level plane. According to some of the pump boxes I have it is only at 500Lph which is only about 2x water turnover in the sump per hour.
     
  18. coral diver

    coral diver

    Joined:
    15 May 2009
    Posts:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California USA
    KevinR hope you don't mind me asking are you using any sock filtration at the end of your drain to catch the large particles?
     
  19. KevinR

    KevinR Thread Starter

    Joined:
    12 Nov 2008
    Posts:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Centurion
    Thanks Neil I will send you a pm. I will take a pic of the system tonight. I unfortunatly only have old pics here.

    @Coral Diver No I am not using any sock filtration but I do have some newly added filter wool in front of the overflow and I must say that since I have been putting the wool there my skimmer has a lot less work to do. I change it every second or third day. But it mght be worth putting a sock over the outlet of the overflow to catch big particals that go through.
     
  20. Neil H

    Neil H Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    11 May 2008
    Posts:
    2,795
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    JHB
    Kevin, no worries on the chaeto!

    If you do go the filter floss or sock route, be warned that if you are not religious about changing and cleaning these, you will have nutrient problems !!!
     
  21. KevinR

    KevinR Thread Starter

    Joined:
    12 Nov 2008
    Posts:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Centurion
    Yes I know. I have just started using the filter floss and so far so good. I will see how it goes and if I do start to slip in the future then I will stop with it.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Cleanup water Forum Date
[wtd] Cleanup Crew Wanted at a reasonable price Wanted 11 Apr 2015
Member of Cleanup crew at work General Images 3 Apr 2015
Photo Comp 6 - Cleanup Crew Competitions 8 Mar 2013
Cleanup Crew Invertebrates 6 Dec 2010
Cleanup crew Invertebrates 22 Sep 2009
Cleanup crew wanted Wanted 21 Sep 2009
What cleanup crew to have Beginner Discussions 30 Jul 2008