Chemical Media

Discussion in 'Biological/Natural Filtration and Deep Sand Beds' started by mohit115, 21 Sep 2008.

  1. mohit115

    mohit115

    Joined:
    20 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I have a 300 lts marine tank with Damsels, clown, anemones and a brown coloured small fish whose name I don't know! The last time I went to my aquarium shop, the shop keeper sold me a 5 kg box of calcium media. I am not sure why I bought it, but guess the shopkeeper's a good sales person.
    Anyways, I now have no idea if that's important enough for my tank. And if it is, then how to use it? I mean where to put it? I read somewhere about a calcium reactor, but I don't have one and I am not going to spend more purchasing it.

    Please help!
     
    Last edited: 22 Sep 2008
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    Hi Mohit 115. I tried sorting out your pic but can. Looks like you've uploaded from your PC directly?
     
  4. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    Sounds like you bought CaCo3. It is recommended for a Calcium reactor.
     
  5. lv

    lv

    Joined:
    30 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    144
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Hi Mohit115
    I agree with Makaeel, take it back to the lfs and get a refund.
     
  6. mohit115

    mohit115 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    20 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    :) That link was for my profile picture, I think I pasted the link here by mistake.
     
  7. mohit115

    mohit115 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    20 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Mohit - yes - if you cannot/don't want to return the media. Then you can indeed use it as substrate - or perhaps inbetween your DSB...........
     
  9. mohit115

    mohit115 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    20 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I tried to return it, but the shopkeeper says he won't take it back and won't exchange for fish. The smart guy, but he lost a good customer.

    Looks like I'll use it as a substrate now. Thanks.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Chemical Media Forum Date
Diy Chemicals for sale. Water Parameters and Additives Yesterday at 11:22
Diy chemicals for sale Water Parameters and Additives 11 May 2016
Bulk dosing chemicals General Discussions and Advice 10 May 2016
Dosing bulk bought chemicals/additives Water Parameters and Additives 25 Apr 2016
Unlabeled chemicals General Discussions and Advice 8 Oct 2015
[wtd] Chemicals Wanted 6 Sep 2015
Mixing your own chemicals Anything DIY Related 4 Apr 2015