Chemical Media

Discussion in 'Biological/Natural Filtration and Deep Sand Beds' started by mohit115, 21 Sep 2008.

  1. mohit115

    mohit115

    Joined:
    20 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I have a 300 lts marine tank with Damsels, clown, anemones and a brown coloured small fish whose name I don't know! The last time I went to my aquarium shop, the shop keeper sold me a 5 kg box of calcium media. I am not sure why I bought it, but guess the shopkeeper's a good sales person.
    Anyways, I now have no idea if that's important enough for my tank. And if it is, then how to use it? I mean where to put it? I read somewhere about a calcium reactor, but I don't have one and I am not going to spend more purchasing it.

    Please help!
     
    Last edited: 22 Sep 2008
  2. Guest




  3. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,226
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    Hi Mohit 115. I tried sorting out your pic but can. Looks like you've uploaded from your PC directly?
     
  4. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,226
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    Sounds like you bought CaCo3. It is recommended for a Calcium reactor.
     
  5. lv

    lv

    Joined:
    30 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    144
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Hi Mohit115
    I agree with Makaeel, take it back to the lfs and get a refund.
     
  6. OP
    mohit115

    mohit115

    Joined:
    20 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    :) That link was for my profile picture, I think I pasted the link here by mistake.
     
  7. OP
    mohit115

    mohit115

    Joined:
    20 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Mohit - yes - if you cannot/don't want to return the media. Then you can indeed use it as substrate - or perhaps inbetween your DSB...........
     
  9. OP
    mohit115

    mohit115

    Joined:
    20 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I tried to return it, but the shopkeeper says he won't take it back and won't exchange for fish. The smart guy, but he lost a good customer.

    Looks like I'll use it as a substrate now. Thanks.
     

Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Chemical Media Forum Date
RSS Xport-PO4, Xport-NO3 and Xport-Bio are new chemical and biological filter medias from RSS Feeds 29 Dec 2011
diy chemicalsl General Discussions and Advice 22 Jan 2017
Diy Chemicals for sale. Water Parameters and Additives 5 Dec 2016
Diy chemicals for sale Water Parameters and Additives 11 May 2016
Bulk dosing chemicals General Discussions and Advice 10 May 2016
Dosing bulk bought chemicals/additives Water Parameters and Additives 25 Apr 2016
Unlabeled chemicals General Discussions and Advice 8 Oct 2015

Share This Page