Changing to reef tank

Discussion in 'New Members' started by Felcon, 17 Oct 2008.

1. Felcon

Felcon

Hi Everyone

I am intrested in changing this tank i have into a Reef tank. I would like all the help i can get as i am new to this but always dreamed of doing this. The tank is a 450l and is a fresh water tank.

So where do i start ... ? ... directions please ...

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. scubaninja

scubaninja

welcometomasa
    well there are a lot of things to consider, what are you wanting to have? fish only, soft corals, lps, or SPS? SPS require better skimming, stronger lights and more flow. so first off what are you looking for?

4. Felcon

Felcon Thread Starter

Reefer to be

Hi Thanx for the quick reply

I would like fish and coral and animals of all sorts. this is what i have now. So maybe you can tell me where to start first.

Regards [​IMG]

5. jacquesb

jacquesb Retired Moderator

A very WARM WELCOME to MASA Felcon (on a BEAUTIFUL sunny day in Cape Town! LOL).....

Please elaborate on what type of tank you currently have - what it is/was being used for (exactly). Have you ever used copper based medicine's in the tank before?

Also - to "convert" this tank to marine, you will have to think of the following as well:
    - having the tank drilled (or DIY) for a down-pipe (durso down-pipe or similar)
    - building an overflow in
    - getting a sump for the marine tank as well
    - purchasing live rock
    - getting the correct substrate
    - whether you will be using NSW (natural sea water - from either 2 Oceans Aquarium, or perhaps the Research Aquarium, or collecting the water yourself), or using synthetic salt and RO filtered water (Reverse Osmosis)
    - purchasing a decent skimmer
    - upgrading the lighting to either a few T5's or perhaps even metal halides (corals require quite high wattage and high output lighting)