Changing substrate in my tank

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by devesh.r, 28 Jan 2013.

  1. devesh.r

    devesh.r

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2011
    Posts:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    johannesburg(Lenz)
    Hi guys

    Need some advice please, I currently have cruched
    Coral in my tank and its the big grains, I want to replace it with aragonite seaflor special grade or fiji pink as its collecting a lot of mess in it.

    Please assist on how I go about doing this as my tank is running for over a year now, its a std 4ft tank 120x45x45 LPS and softies.

    Thanks
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,160
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Centurion
    siphon the current substrate out with your water change. About 20% per week, until the bottom is clean.
     
  4. butcherman

    butcherman Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2009
    Posts:
    11,626
    Likes Received:
    280
    Location:
    Kempton Park
    what size are the grains exactly?
     
  5. devesh.r

    devesh.r Thread Starter

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2011
    Posts:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    johannesburg(Lenz)
    They differ would think they from 2mm - 4mm in size
     
  6. devesh.r

    devesh.r Thread Starter

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2011
    Posts:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    johannesburg(Lenz)
  7. mornewil

    mornewil Morne

    Joined:
    23 Jun 2011
    Posts:
    1,846
    Likes Received:
    155
    Location:
    Retreat, Cape Town
    Ive done this recently. Just remove bit by bit with wc as riaan stated. When bottom is bare, add new substrate. Easy peasy
     
  8. devesh.r

    devesh.r Thread Starter

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2011
    Posts:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    johannesburg(Lenz)
    Thanks guys.

    which of the 2 aragonite substrate would be best to use if anyone has experience with them
     
  9. mornewil

    mornewil Morne

    Joined:
    23 Jun 2011
    Posts:
    1,846
    Likes Received:
    155
    Location:
    Retreat, Cape Town
    I had the coarse aragonite and changed to sugar fine. Just looks more natural to me. But if you have heavy flow in your tank it might cause issues with sandstorms.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Changing substrate tank Forum Date
Changing substrate help needed Aquascaping 22 Mar 2014
changing substrate General Discussions and Advice 20 Aug 2012
changing over substrate General Discussions and Advice 11 Sep 2009
changing substrate Beginner Discussions 24 Oct 2008
Live rock changing white General Discussions and Advice 22 Nov 2016
Changing from T5 to LED Lighting 7 Nov 2016
Frogfish changing colour to look like it's surrounding General Discussions and Advice 13 Oct 2016