Chaeto in sump - Yes, No?

Discussion in 'Biological/Natural Filtration and Deep Sand Beds' started by Benanna, 8 May 2011.

1. Benanna

Benanna

Hi PE Reefers

Does anyone in PE know where I can get some Chaeto for my sump. I have never used it before and want to give it a try.

Has anyone had good succes with it for nutrient export etc?

Can I put it in my sump above my DSB or would it require its own compartment?

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Tremayn

Tremayn

you can keep it above the dsb.Would be better to use some egg crate to prevent from touching the dsb. It works; if it grows that means it is working :)

Boegie likes this.
  4. Dane

Dane

The best way to run cheato is for it to be a gently tumbling ball, floating above the DSB. I would certainly recommend trying it. It is a slightly slower growing macroalgae, compared to caulerpa etc - but if you have a nice large area it can reach considerable size - and the other faster growing macros have their own complications - which chaeto does not. I would certainly suggest you try it. It also provide an excellent home and breeding ground for pods.

Boegie likes this.
  5. Slagter

Slagter MASA Contributor

Just remember you need to use a light for it too... But it's a fantastic way to help your system with nutrient export.

Boegie likes this.
  6. Benanna

Benanna Thread Starter

Thanks for the feedback. Will definately give it a go. Will first need to set up some better lighting.

Now, where can I get some? Can anyone help in PE?

7. Alias

Alias

im also looking for some in PE.

8. inflames

inflames