Cell C "speedstick" not so speedy

Discussion in 'Internet' started by Reef Maniac, 31 Jul 2011.

  1. Reef Maniac

    Reef Maniac MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    15 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,899
    Likes Received:
    112
    Location:
    Bloemfontein
    Hi everyone,

    Up till Saturday, I used a rather old Vodacom 3G modem, which performed so-so, and cost me a fortune on a pay-as-you-go setup. On paper, the new Cell C 60GB "speedstick" modem for R3000.00 (giving 5GB per month at an advertised speed of "up to 21.6Mbps HSUPA) sounded quite good, so I bought one.

    Problem is, on first connecting, it only connected at "Edge" speed, giving on about 0.2 Mbps... After doing some research with my friend Google, it became apparent that many people were experiencing this problem. One "work around" found on the 'net is to manually select another service provider (e.g. Vodacom), then, once that connection fails, to re-select the Cell C connection. I did this, and eureka - I'm running at "WCDMA" (whatever that means...). Problem is, this worked quite well last night, but somehow it reset itself to Edge during the day... so I had to do everything all over again.

    This is really going to p*ss me off. Does anyone know of a better solution to this problem? Perhaps a software upgrade?? (nothing that I could find on the Cell C website...)

    Does anyone else have this problem?

    Thanks for any feedback...

    Hennie
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Reefhead

    Reefhead

    Joined:
    28 Jun 2011
    Posts:
    953
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Westrand
    Mine I installed from day one has been running at lightning speed compared to my other internet services
    Been using it since Jan
     
  4. pXius

    pXius

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    1,170
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Weltevreden Park, JHB
    Give me the modem mode, brand and code.

    I'll see if I can find you some new firmware.
     
  5. mariusmeyer

    mariusmeyer

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    3,054
    Likes Received:
    210
    Location:
    Jukskei Park, JHB
    Is the super speed not dependent on signal availability? For instance HSDPA is not available when edge is the best you can get. If you dont have 3G signal quality then I dont see you getting the speeds they advertise.
     
  6. carlosdeandrade

    carlosdeandrade

    Joined:
    24 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    8,230
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    North Riding, Jozi
  7. Reef Maniac

    Reef Maniac Thread Starter MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    15 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,899
    Likes Received:
    112
    Location:
    Bloemfontein
    It's one of the Huawei "black sticks", model E1820. All software is said to be "Version 1.01"

    I understand this - but their website shows HSDPA coverage in the area where I live.

    Agreed :lol:

    Pretty false advertising if they show high-speed availability and quote impressive performance, but then don't deliver :(

    I will try to get hold of their technical department (if they have one...) and see if they have answers, but I'm not holding my breath...

    Hennie
     
  8. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,163
    Likes Received:
    1,231
    Location:
    Centurion
    Remember, you share a tower.
    Mine is now on HSPA. Sitting in Sandton, at 7:30. Wait till 10:00 and I will drop to EDGE. The tower needs to split itself for everybody using it. So when you are the only one browsing, you get lightning fast speed.

    Same as having a Ferrari. Using the highway you can only go as fast as there are traffic. You will not arrive at your destination within 3 minutes, although its technically on paper capable of doing that speed. So is it false advertising from Ferrari?
     
  9. pXius

    pXius

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    1,170
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Weltevreden Park, JHB
    Ok, so upon a bit of research their doesn't seem to be a alternative firmware for your modem. You see, Cell C has a custom firmware enabling their +900 network, all the alternative firmwares I could find do not include this.

    However, you might want to try an alternative dail up manager.

    here's a link

    Huawei Mobile Partner software download
     
    Last edited: 1 Aug 2011
  10. Jeann1

    Jeann1

    Joined:
    21 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Witbank - Mpumalanga
    +1 "Availability of connections at each connection point is only an indication."
    You will se this is almost always written somewhere , either on the contract papers, or on the cell-c documents that come with the modem etc.

    They might be able to provide you with this speed if... that is what it comes down to. Unless you have a dedicated piece of "pyp" for your connection, you get what the tower is providing.

    It's like Telkoms ADSL lines. The one package is a 4 mbps but, the package states 1-4mbps. because you share a "pyp" with other people. you could get 4mbps but most likely you will get less
     
  11. Reef Maniac

    Reef Maniac Thread Starter MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    15 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,899
    Likes Received:
    112
    Location:
    Bloemfontein
    Then surely they should regularly update/upgrade their towers... I still believe it's false advertising stating one capability, knowing full well that one cannot reach what has been advertised because of their own equipment restrictions!

    That's like having Ferrari advertise their car maximum speed, but putting cheap, 140km/h rated tyres on it...

    Hennie
     
  12. pXius

    pXius

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    1,170
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Weltevreden Park, JHB
    They actually got a case against them earlier this year in Potch for advertising/selling it with no HSDPA availble in the area (for cell c)
     
  13. Rory

    Rory Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    5 May 2007
    Posts:
    4,850
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    JHB
  14. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,163
    Likes Received:
    1,231
    Location:
    Centurion
    a little secret.
    Vodacom got the same capability as Cell C
    But Cell-C got it on ALL their towers, not so for Vodacom. So Cell-C can use it on their adds.

    But here comes the twist.

    The number of Cell-C towers is less than the Vodacom towers with the same capability.

    I'm on Cell-C, and where I sit now in Sandton, I got better coverage than the guy next to me on Vodacom. He is on EDGE while I'm on HSPA.

    So, what can I say. Less towers, but faster. Yeah, I got the faster connection.
     
  15. Reef Maniac

    Reef Maniac Thread Starter MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    15 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,899
    Likes Received:
    112
    Location:
    Bloemfontein
    Thanks for the effort, and the link - I will have a look at it :thumbup:

    Hennie
     
  16. AndrévN

    AndrévN

    Joined:
    23 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    1,840
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Springs
    Been using it for i think 5months and no hassles, had little ups and downs but it aint even comparing to vodacom shit i had, so they are good. Worst ive had when was there towers was off and the signal was gone but that got sorted. I live 30km from the closest tower and im still covered so im happy you might just been unlucky for some reason but they swift to sort you out when you do phone youll see oom Hennie.
     
  17. AndrévN

    AndrévN

    Joined:
    23 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    1,840
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Springs
    Im actually looking at getting the new 8TA too.. Its R199 for 10gig a month over 24months and the modem is R699 for 21Mbps speed and R349 for 7,2Mbps, just to back up my wifes usage LOL. She uses 12gig a month now and the cell C aint coping. Will let you know when im up and running with it.
     
  18. Singularity

    Singularity Hmmm amper!

    Joined:
    3 Apr 2008
    Posts:
    2,496
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Potch/Centurion/Brooklyn
    cell c sucks, they gave my money back with no issues though.
     
  19. zak

    zak

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2011
    Posts:
    768
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    Im using Cellc and I love it..

    Like Riaanp said,very much signal dependant..
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Cell speedstick speedy Forum Date
[wtd] Ocellaris Clown Pair Wanted 9 Aug 2016
Excellent after sales service from Aquaria Sa Aquaria 28 Jul 2016
Parcell Collection General Discussions and Advice 28 Apr 2016
Looking for Fraser W Cell Number The Sump 18 Dec 2015
Percula vs ocellaris clownfish ID Needed 3 Dec 2014
excellent service Jungle Aquatics 3 Dec 2014
Female ocellaris clownfish dead Marine Fish Discussions 25 Nov 2014