Carbon or Vodka/Sugar dosing

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by Nico Kortenbout, 22 Jul 2010.

1. Nico Kortenbout

Nico Kortenbout

Hi there

I am still a relative newbie at Marine tanks. I will psot a thread soon with pics of my setup but I would like to know more about Carbon dosing. I have read on various threads about dosing with Vodca and/or Sugar. I have a 250L display tank and a 50L sump. How and why do you dose with Vodca or Sugar. I have also read about the new NP Bio Pellets from Marco at the Waterboy. Is this a better option?

Thanks very much.

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Manic

Manic Moderator

It depends on what you want to achieve. Personally I would go for the NP bio pellets as it is a much safer option. With carbon dosing in the form of sugar/vinegar/vodka there is a lot that can go wrong and fast. Do you have a dsb?

4. Nico Kortenbout

Nico Kortenbout Thread Starter

Hi Manic
    Thanks for the advice :thumbup: I dont have a DSB. My sand is only about 4cm deep in the display tank. I have about 30 kg of live rock in the display tank and about 15 kg in the sump. I will be adding about another 10 kg to the display tank. I am trying to lower my nitrates which are really high (about 200ppm). I do water changes regularly (weekly) of about 10%.

Last edited: 22 Jul 2010
  5. Mekaeel

Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

Hi Nico! Since you are new to marines, i suggest staying away from bacteria and carbon source dosing until you become a little more experienced and you have a system that requires Ultra Low Nutrients. These methods were designed for ULNS but more advanced reefers have begun using it by halving the dosages in normal Lps/softies systems.

For now I suggest sticking to LR,DSB and a decent skimmer for filtration. :)

6. Nico Kortenbout