Canister Filter

Discussion in 'Pumps and Waterflow' started by Afsal, 19 Jul 2007.

  1. Afsal

    Afsal

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,319
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Dbn,Kzn
    I have a canister filter. I have neva used a canister filter and wana use this for carbon & phosphate remover.

    1.how does get this filter to work??
    2.do i fill it with tank water first , then put it on ??
    3.it didnt come with the "tap" to stop/slow the flow down so im using normal clear tubing on it.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Alan

    Alan Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    5,974
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    KZN
    Hi Afsal, some come with a priming pump and others you will have to fill with media and give a suck on the outlet pipe to start a syphon. These are great as chemical filters, please clean them often.
     
  4. Afsal

    Afsal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,319
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Dbn,Kzn
    regarding placing of media , it came with 2 trays , how shud i place the carbon , phosphate remover. also want to use filter floss !!! alan , u didnt forget my frag ???
     
  5. Alan

    Alan Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    5,974
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    KZN
    I would place carbon first and then PO4 remover. Got your frag, just not glued, if you glue it yourself i can drop it off tomorrow at NP.
     
  6. Afsal

    Afsal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,319
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Dbn,Kzn
    what abt the filter floss ???? on top of carbon
     
  7. Alan

    Alan Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    5,974
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    KZN
    Leave the filter floss out or place it under the carbon.
     
  8. Afsal

    Afsal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,319
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Dbn,Kzn
    ok when the outlet pipe starts the syphon , do i place it back in the sump and when do i switch the filter on
     
  9. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    put the media in the canisters 2 trays,fill the canister with water.close it up.swithch the power on and let it pump.some have a knob at the top which require you to pump it a few times to get it to flow.there after,you are cooking :wave2:
     
  10. Alan

    Alan Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    5,974
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    KZN
    You better put it back in the sump unless you want water all over the carpets, you will hear the canister filling up and once its full switch on.
     
  11. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    yes you really wanna put that pipe in the sump and not leave it hanging out,well thats unless you want a slap from the wife
     
  12. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,990
    Likes Received:
    782
    I'm confused.

    You are starting a syphon so obviously the water will now be flowing through the canister, what exactly do you now switch on?

    Sorry but I have never used a canister filter.
     
  13. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    dean.by doing the syphon,it acually fills up the canister with water.when you switch it on the pump starts pumping water through the canister
     
  14. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,990
    Likes Received:
    782
    So the syphon then stops and water will not flow through the filter unless you switch it on?

    Reason I am asking is that you don't want a torrential storm going through your phosphate and carbon media, a nice slow flow created by a syphon would suit me fine.
     
  15. Alan

    Alan Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    5,974
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    KZN
    You can't syphon and return water at the same level. You are drawing water from the sump and returning it back to the sump.
     
  16. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,990
    Likes Received:
    782
    Ok, sorry, I thought you were taking from display and returning to sump.
     
  17. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    instead of the syphon,i prefer to fill up the canister with tank water and then start it it up.at times back breaks trying to syphon lol
     
  18. Alan

    Alan Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    5,974
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    KZN
    Suffering from ald age already Mekaeel?
     
  19. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    lol @ alan.not as strong as you ballie ;)
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Canister Filter Forum Date
[wtd] Canister filter Wanted Thursday at 13:36
[wtd] canister filter Wanted 25 Nov 2016
[wtd] External Canister filter Wanted 12 Jul 2016
[wtd] Canister Filter Wanted 27 Feb 2015
[wtd] canister filter Wanted 23 Feb 2015
Aquael Unimax Canister Filters Now Available In South Africa Pet Habitat 29 Aug 2014
Aquael MidiKani 800 - The Most Innovative Canister Filter Pet Habitat 29 Aug 2014