can u put purigen /phosguard an carbon in the same chamber

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by mandrin, 24 May 2013.

1. mandrin

mandrin

hi guys i added purigen about a week now in one chamber now i wana add phosguard in as well want to put them in one chamber i got carbon an purigen already
    its in my last chamber above my return pump after my refuguim ( with live rock an cheato )
    guys u think that ok or any ideas
    thanks

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Charl_Stanhope

Charl_Stanhope

@mandrin, I have been running Purigen and Phosgaurd together for years in the same chamber and I havent had problems. I am also running Activated carbon when necessary. I have mine in the chamber with the most flow.

Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  4. mandrin

mandrin Thread Starter

thanks @Carl Stanhope i have never tried thses products before trying the purigen for a week now an carbon for 2 weeks jus wana add phos guard now thanks bud

5. Charl_Stanhope

Charl_Stanhope

I love the combo, works wonders for me. I dont have access to much here in Hermanus so havent really tried the newer "filtration" goods out on the market, but as they say , "if it aint broke, dont fix it." :thumbup: Remember to change your activated carbon every few weeks once exhausted. It will leach impurities back into the water column if not changed. I change mine every 3 weeks, but it will be different from setup to setup depending on how "dirty " your water is.

6. mandrin

mandrin Thread Starter

thanks bud which carbon u using ?

7. dallasg

dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

yes no problem

8. mytank

mytank

It's important to note they all chemically effect the water differently. Whilst they won't have any negative effect running them together you Should be aware of what you doing to your water.

The amounts are also crucial.