Can I ?

joe

Joined
14 May 2007
Posts
361
Reaction score
0
Location
Cape Town
Good DAY

Im in the process of setting up a new tank , my current tank volume is 300l and the new tank will be about 600l ,i dont have alot of space so the swop over will have to be done as soon as i decide to start the new tank. if i fill half the new tank with NSW from 2oceans and fill the rest with the water from my existing tank can i then immediately add all my live stock ?
( this off course provided that the salinity of the Fresh salt water matches that of the "old " water ill be adding )
 

joe

Joined
14 May 2007
Posts
361
Reaction score
0
Location
Cape Town
so wot could i expect from the system if i did something like this ?
 

Kanga

Retired Moderator
Joined
7 May 2007
Posts
4,576
Reaction score
23
Location
In the Koeberg blast radius
Problem is not the water cycling, but depending on the substrate and the rock, DSB etc that you have in the new tank.

What are you planning on doing with the above and then look at it from there;)
 

Mike

Retired Moderator
Joined
12 May 2007
Posts
7,859
Reaction score
31
Location
the Motherland
I would leave the substrate behind and start off with new, you will stir up some nasties from the old sand, but other than that, sounds ok.
 

joe

Joined
14 May 2007
Posts
361
Reaction score
0
Location
Cape Town
well i dont currently have a substrate and i will be using all my existing live rock etc, i am concerned about my DSB even though i will be using my old sump , its just the tank thats changing ....
 

Mekaeel

Moderator
Joined
8 May 2007
Posts
24,226
Reaction score
129
Location
Point Waterfront Durban
well i dont currently have a substrate and i will be using all my existing live rock etc, i am concerned about my DSB even though i will be using my old sump , its just the tank thats changing ....
i cant see any problems then....lets here from some of our gurus
 

Mike

Retired Moderator
Joined
12 May 2007
Posts
7,859
Reaction score
31
Location
the Motherland
well i dont currently have a substrate and i will be using all my existing live rock etc, i am concerned about my DSB even though i will be using my old sump , its just the tank thats changing ....
As long as you don't disturb the sump too much it will be fine, but if you have to move it, don't be tempted to move it while it's full
 

joe

Joined
14 May 2007
Posts
361
Reaction score
0
Location
Cape Town
As long as you don't disturb the sump too much it will be fine, but if you have to move it, don't be tempted to move it while it's full
so i could mabe just take out the water, and leave the dsb with a little water on it and then move it ?
 

Alan

Admin
Joined
4 May 2007
Posts
5,974
Reaction score
123
Location
KZN
Will be okay, if temp and salinity are the same you will have to transfere all bio filter media over ie live rock as that already contains the correct about of bacteria. If you going to use new substrate then take about a cup full of the old substrate and mix it into the new as the life in the substrate will be transfered this way and give the new substrate a kick start.
It should be fine just cut back on the feeding for a couple of weeks untill the system settles. Have done a move like this a few times and never had any ill effects.
 

Mekaeel

Moderator
Joined
8 May 2007
Posts
24,226
Reaction score
129
Location
Point Waterfront Durban
As long as you don't disturb the sump too much it will be fine, but if you have to move it, don't be tempted to move it while it's full
agree here.just drain out all the water from the compartments,while leavin the DSB with atleas a 1cm of water.do not disrupt the DSB
 

joe

Joined
14 May 2007
Posts
361
Reaction score
0
Location
Cape Town
Guys this is really cool , its been bothering me for a while
I would just hate to lose any livestock .
 

Kanga

Retired Moderator
Joined
7 May 2007
Posts
4,576
Reaction score
23
Location
In the Koeberg blast radius
Yip that should be fine:thumbup:
 

joe

Joined
14 May 2007
Posts
361
Reaction score
0
Location
Cape Town
Guys really thanx alot for all the quick and very helpful responses.
PS: dont u guys have jobs:)
 

Kanga

Retired Moderator
Joined
7 May 2007
Posts
4,576
Reaction score
23
Location
In the Koeberg blast radius
Oh, we have jobs, we just don't let them interfere with our hobby:whistling:
Yip, oh that reminds me I must find the number of the guys that pay my salary in, havent spoken to them for months:whistling:
 
Top