calcium

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by mitchel, 12 Apr 2013.

  1. mitchel

    mitchel

    Joined:
    28 May 2009
    Posts:
    387
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    johannesberg
    Hi all I got a kalk stirrer a few weeks ago,hoocked it up to my ATO.i put half a coffee cup kalk in the stirrer and after 5 days did a few test

    ca over 500ppm
    mg over 1500
    kh alkalinity 9dkh
    ph 8

    So i have stopped the kalk till the ca drops back to where it should be.
    Is this correct?all my corals are looking fine in my 700l tank.

    any advise please
    Thanks Mitchel
     
  2. Guest




  3. OP
    mitchel

    mitchel

    Joined:
    28 May 2009
    Posts:
    387
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    johannesberg
    Any one please
     
  4. brentnorm

    brentnorm

    Joined:
    6 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    2,200
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Yes, stop dosing all together until the params normalize. You need to work out consumption before you start dosing anything.
     
  5. Bob the (reef)builder

    Bob the (reef)builder

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    1,781
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Joburg
    What were the params before you dosed.

    What salt are you using?
     
  6. mandarinman

    mandarinman

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2007
    Posts:
    6,377
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    capetown,durbanville
    imo 500 ppm is a bit high but not a train smash. i would consider putting kalwasser on a shorter dosing period
     
  7. OP
    mitchel

    mitchel

    Joined:
    28 May 2009
    Posts:
    387
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    johannesberg
    Hi rob I didn't test before I starting the kalk stirrer and I was using seachem reefsalt.i got some aqua medic reef salt witch I will use for a water change later today and see if that brings it down.
     
  8. Bob the (reef)builder

    Bob the (reef)builder

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    1,781
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Joburg
    Cool. It may help but all salts are notoriously batchy and can all run high or low sometimes.

    It's why we always try to sell salinity by Seachem. Each batch is tested and this eliminates the variance that is so irritating.
     
  9. OP
    mitchel

    mitchel

    Joined:
    28 May 2009
    Posts:
    387
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    johannesberg
    So I mixed up some seachem and aqua medic reef salt and tested then for ca

    seachem 250
    aqua medic under 10

    so I need to keep a closer check on my the tank levels
    thanks
     

Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - calcium Forum Date
[wtd] Calcium reactor media Wanted 8 Jul 2017
[wtd] Calcium reactor wanted Wanted 27 Jun 2017
Dosing alk and calcium battle Water Parameters and Additives 31 May 2017
Calcium reactor help needed. Protein Skimmers, Mechanical Filtration 27 May 2017
[wtd] Media for Calcium reactor Wanted 9 Apr 2017
bulk calcium question Chemical Filtration / Low Nutrient Systems - LNS 2 Apr 2017
[wtd] Calcium and phosphate test kit Wanted 4 Feb 2017