Calcium To High Please Help !!!

Discussion in 'Water Parameters and Additives' started by Fires, 29 Apr 2010.

  1. Fires

    Fires

    Joined:
    25 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Centurion
    Hi Guys,

    My Calcium is sitting on 550,what can i do to bring it down ??:whistling:
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,384
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
    What is your pH & KH ?
     
  4. Fires

    Fires Thread Starter

    Joined:
    25 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Centurion
    Ph is 7.71 & KH is also Low, and Mag also Low.Pete tested my water last night,so we started to get the Mag up first.Then the KH ect.
     
  5. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,384
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
    If your kh is like 6-7 then your ca test kit is faulty. Suggest checking ca again with a different test kit.
     
  6. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Shaun - one way, is water changes - a lot of them.

    Alternatively - if you don't have problems with your lifestock, then leave it. It won't do any short term damage. Just don't dose ANYTHING for about a month or so (no additives).. The calcium will be used up by the corralline algae and corals in your tank, and then will come down on it's own.

    The only thing that I have ever heard of, that can be caused by high calcium, is "calcium precipitation". This is where the calcium binds to the Carbon dioxide, and forms calcium carbonate (a less soluble substance), and the calcium drops instantaneously....

    On the other hand - before you do ANYTHING, why don't you get a 2nd opinion by having your water tested at your LFS or at one of the sponsors?
     
  7. Fires

    Fires Thread Starter

    Joined:
    25 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Centurion
    So let me tell you what happed,I got a profilux quad dosing pump for ( Mag,Cal,KH,Iodion )So the pump was supposed to dose once a week 15ml,it was dosing 15ml per day for the last week.I programmed the thing wrongly.:p
     
  8. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,384
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
    Ok the additive you should be worried about is iodine. Have you tested it.
     
  9. Fires

    Fires Thread Starter

    Joined:
    25 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Centurion
    Not yet,what testkit is the best for Stront,Iod,Potas... ??
     
  10. Diveshan

    Diveshan

    Joined:
    23 Mar 2010
    Posts:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Durban
    make sure you get a test kit that test's for both iodide and iodate, there's a link somewhere on the site about this im sure, apparently salifert is the one to go for, but thats just what i've read
     
  11. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,384
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
    Yup Salifert.
     
  12. Fires

    Fires Thread Starter

    Joined:
    25 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Centurion
    Thanx Guys,Will do so !!
     
  13. Diveshan

    Diveshan

    Joined:
    23 Mar 2010
    Posts:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Durban
    dude 15ml of iodion a day for a week is insanely much, im sure that it's not meant to be over 0.1ppm, it causes your filteration to crash at high levels
     
  14. Reef Maniac

    Reef Maniac MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    15 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,899
    Likes Received:
    112
    Location:
    Bloemfontein
    Test the water again...

    It is VERY unlikely that the Ca level is really that high. If it was, you would have had a calcium precipitation event, and the water would have turned milky white.

    Hennie
     
  15. colbar

    colbar

    Joined:
    6 Jan 2009
    Posts:
    382
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Johannesburg South Africa
    I've been through high calcium levels without any water chemistry ill effects.....however over a period of 6 months , at some stage or another, everything that turned/generated some heat, eventually seized due to a calcium buld up. This included wet side Vortech shafts, skimmer pumps, calcuim reactor pump and the return pump. It takes about 2-3 months to manifest.
     
  16. Fires

    Fires Thread Starter

    Joined:
    25 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Centurion
    Thanx for the info Hennie.
     
  17. Fires

    Fires Thread Starter

    Joined:
    25 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Centurion
    I must say Pete and myself are getting the parameters back to normal.

    Thanx to Pete !!!:peroni:
     
  18. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    What are you doing/have you done, Shaun?
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Calcium High Please Forum Date
Extremely High Calcium Problem Please Help Water Parameters and Additives 13 Feb 2014
High Calcium... what could i do to fix? Water Parameters and Additives 8 Feb 2016
High calcium level General Discussions and Advice 12 Dec 2008
Calcium to high..Why? Water Parameters and Additives 1 Jun 2008
[wtd] calcium reactor Wanted 23 Oct 2016
[wtd] Complete Aqua Medic KR 5000 Calcium Reactor Wanted 1 Oct 2016
[wtd] Calcium Reactor Complete Setup Wanted 28 Sep 2016