calcium reactor

Discussion in 'Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers' started by Jarred van niekerk, 18 Jan 2012.

1. Jarred van niekerk

Jarred van niekerk

hi guys
    just a quick question concerning calcium reactors?im going to be decreasing the amount of water in my sump because my sump cant hold the gravity feed and always over flows so that would mean i will have 90litres of water in my sump with about 15kgs of live rock! my tank is just over the thousand litre mark and has around 100kgs of live rock in it(maybe more)! now for my question?

can i run a calcium reactor thats rated at 800litres and tweek it that the drip rate is greater so i will get the required alkalinity levels?

just looking at cheaper options as im a student!

can you guys give me ideas on models and makes to use?

thanks in advance

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. leslie hempel

leslie hempel Moderator MASA Contributor

Jarred i am fully into advising lower priced products for peoples budgets, so there are 2 ways to look at this

1) buy a smaller reactor and upgrade as your system demand increases, but i gaurantee you that the demand will increase pretty quickly
    2) buy a bigger reactor in anticipation of the demand in future, this will offer you more scope in the greater scheme of things..

on a side note
    in our discussions of ph probes via pm, i want you to know that activation of the solenoid to add co2 is best regulated with a ph controller and a ph probe. the main purpose for this is to make sure the water within the reactor stays at 6.5 which is optimal for dissolding the media.. to high or to low and you will have adverse effects.

when buying serious equipment it is important to make sure it is functioning correctly or it could be a waste completley.

the basic componenets you will need to run a Calcium reactor are as follows:

Reactor body with hydrcarbonate/aragonite media
    Bubble counter
    Solenoid
    Co2 cylinder
    Regulator