Calcium Reactor Trouble!

Discussion in 'Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers' started by Mathewis, 12 Sep 2008.

  1. Mathewis

    Mathewis

    Joined:
    27 Jun 2008
    Posts:
    479
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Silver Lakes
    I just can't seem to get my Reefoctopus CARX to work. I can't get the air bleeded out of the reactor! I even purchased a king pump to feed it but still no luck. I have already burnt out 1 otp 1000 pump. Everytime I connect up the CO2 the shit hits the fan. The pump seizes up from the back pressure. What am I doing wrong?
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    hhhmmm.I had the same problem with my Reefocto CArx. I replaced the pump with a 1000lph Haliea and no problems.
    The problem with these reactors is that they tend to get air blockages. I've modified mines and have had no issues.
    Post of a pic of the reactor,wanna see exactly what yours looks like.
     
    Last edited: 12 Sep 2008
    IMarine likes this.
  4. Mathewis

    Mathewis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    27 Jun 2008
    Posts:
    479
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Silver Lakes
    Will do.
     
  5. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    Agree with Mek, I replaced my pump with Haliea and haven't had any shit since.
     
  6. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    I should add. That the Octo pumps cme with a needle wheel impellor as compared to the Haliea's which have a standard impellor.
     
  7. Mathewis

    Mathewis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    27 Jun 2008
    Posts:
    479
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Silver Lakes
    Lucky I have an 1000lph Haliea. I tried, at least it just keeps going, but its seems that there is endless bubbles in the reactor. Will the CO2 make bubbles in the reactor? Which pipe should be connected where? Maybe i dont have it setup right.
     
  8. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    You get bubbles initially, but not all the time.

    Give us a pic of your connections
     
  9. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
  10. Mathewis

    Mathewis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    27 Jun 2008
    Posts:
    479
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Silver Lakes
    Flip I feel like moering the thing away and going with the balling method...
     
  11. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    I felt the same, but it is worth it once it is working properly
     
  12. Mathewis

    Mathewis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    27 Jun 2008
    Posts:
    479
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Silver Lakes
    busy getting pic
     
  13. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
  14. Mathewis

    Mathewis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    27 Jun 2008
    Posts:
    479
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Silver Lakes
    [​IMG]
     
  15. Mathewis

    Mathewis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    27 Jun 2008
    Posts:
    479
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Silver Lakes
    Damn you cant see the writing...
     
  16. Mathewis

    Mathewis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    27 Jun 2008
    Posts:
    479
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Silver Lakes
    I see that my bubble counter doesn't stay full of water. its about 3/4 of the way full.
     
  17. Mathewis

    Mathewis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    27 Jun 2008
    Posts:
    479
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Silver Lakes
    [​IMG]
     
  18. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    Not right that, mine is full
     
  19. Mathewis

    Mathewis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    27 Jun 2008
    Posts:
    479
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Silver Lakes
    The red dots are connected. yellow dot is the feed from the pump. Greenish dot top is the effluent exit. the blue dot is the co2 supply.
     
  20. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    Your water in the reactor is saturated with Ca, this only happens in my unit if the outlet has stopped dripping. Is your water like this all the time ?
     
  21. Mathewis

    Mathewis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    27 Jun 2008
    Posts:
    479
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Silver Lakes
    not always
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Calcium Reactor Trouble Forum Date
[wtd] calcium reactor Wanted 23 Oct 2016
[wtd] Complete Aqua Medic KR 5000 Calcium Reactor Wanted 1 Oct 2016
[wtd] Calcium Reactor Complete Setup Wanted 28 Sep 2016
[wtd] Complete calcium reactor unit will all bells and whistles Wanted 22 Sep 2016
[wtd] Calcium Reactor media - Course Wanted 30 May 2016
[wtd] calcium reactor Wanted 12 May 2016
[wtd] PH controller for calcium reactor Wanted 20 Jan 2016