building a sump for 500 liter tank

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by hassen, 3 Sep 2009.

1. hassen

hassen

I am completely new to the hobby and i have a 1.5 m tank that has space under the cabinet for a sthe existing sump is cracked and i want to build a new sump for marine fishkeeping, please sent me details on what is the best sump setup, the space i have is about 1200(l) x 400(w) x 450(h) i want to know how many chambers, size of each chamber and baffle arrangements

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Falcon

Falcon

hey hassen slmz and welcome to masa!

sumps are quite easy really,if you want to make it complicated you can,but rather not make it too complicated.

basic and effective sump design is three chambers.

1.for your skimmer
    2.for your dsb
    3.for your return pump

the skimmer section size should be obviously only slightly bigger than your skimmer,what skimmer do you have?

the dsb you should try to make it as big as possible and remember to have a minimum height of at least 40cm as 15-20cm of this will be for your dsb

the return chamber should not be too small or shallow also as the water level here changes with evaporation.

rather leave the baffles out they are not needed,i'll draw a sketch for you just now

Last edited: 3 Sep 2009
  4. Falcon

Falcon

this does not have an auto top up tank(ATO tank) did you have any ATO plans in mind?

[​IMG]

5. Mekaeel

Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

Slmz and Welcome to MASA Hassen.
    Follow Falcon's advice, you in good hands.

6. leslie hempel

leslie hempel Moderator MASA Contributor

welcome .

7. riyadhessa

riyadhessa

Welcome to MASA...

8. hassen

hassen Thread Starter

sump design