BugMan's 21L Invert an Zoanthids Tank

Discussion in 'Nano Tanks' started by BugMan, 30 Apr 2012.

1. BugMan

BugMan

Hello...

After lots and Lots and LOTS OF RESEARCH AND EVEN MORE PLANNING AND THINKING I have decided to do a 21L invert and Zoanthids tank...

I decided to do a Invert and Zoanthids tank as it is my first marine tank I the Bioload that a singe fish, no matter the size, will add to the tank is just a bit risky... The Bioload that the inverts and corals have is a lot less from what I learned from research and from talking to very knowledgeable people...

And i have chose inverts as they are the COOLEST EVER!!! (sorry i'm an entomolog student) and The Zoanthids as everybody tells me that they are the best and easiest corals to start with... (And they are SOOOO PRETTY!!! :biggrin:)

It turns out to be 21L as i decided to use a standard 1.5 foot (30L) tank and to build in a sump... Thus the sump will be 7L of the tank...

I've built that part of the tank and it is looking really good. I bought a bag of crushed coral from Pet Stop and some water.

It is a sump that will have light and also a small refugium. The return pump I'm using is a 400L per hour pump and i did research on that and it will give me enough flow in the tank for the corals. Thus a power head will not be needed in the display area of my tank.

The lights will be 3 LED strips. Two white strips of 10 000K and one blue strip of 12 000K. (These will also go over the sump)

I decided that to add the live rock i will add no more than 500g at one time to ensure that my water parameters stay more constant. All of my water i will be buying from Pet Stop since they are not to far. I will be doing a 30% water change on a weekly basis (I'm still trying to figure out whether a once weekly 30% water change or a twice weekly 15% water change will be best). I will top up with RO water as it is needed.